New build won't boot to windows - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-05-2010, 05:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Default New build won't boot to windows

my computer keeps wanting me to reboot and select proper reboot device after i start up computer and i dont know what key to press please help me someone
__________________

SerenityMoon1 is offline  
Old 08-05-2010, 06:57 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Drogos's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 1,415
Default Re: select proper boot device

Sounds like your Harddrive might have died.
If you by any chance opened you pc recently and messed with some hardware check and make sure both cables for the harddrive are plugged.
If that's not the issue good chances are your harddrive might need to be replaced or windows is heavily corrupted and needs a clean reinstall.
__________________

Drogos is offline  
Old 08-05-2010, 07:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

Welcome to Tech-Forums, SerenityMoon1!!!

First of all we need more information about your computer. Specs? OS? Have you installed the OS already?

These will help us figure out what exactly your problem could be.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 05:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Welcome to Tech-Forums, SerenityMoon1!!!

First of all we need more information about your computer. Specs? OS? Have you installed the OS already?

These will help us figure out what exactly your problem could be.
i think its a Windows Vista 7/Hewlett Packard...does that help with info?...and what does OS mean?
SerenityMoon1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 06:05 PM   #5 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

OS = Operating System, like Windows

It can't be both Vista and 7 that you have. It's either one or the other.

Have you opened up the computer before? You should check to make sure all the cables are securely connected. Especially the hard drive. But before you do, is it still under warranty?
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 06:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
OS = Operating System, like Windows

It can't be both Vista and 7 that you have. It's either one or the other.

Have you opened up the computer before? You should check to make sure all the cables are securely connected. Especially the hard drive. But before you do, is it still under warranty?
nope i called hp and they said it wasnt or didnt have warranty anymore...i just check comp and says its windowss vista...on the sticker it said it was...will u be able to help me and is it free if i dont have warranty to help me on here?
SerenityMoon1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 06:18 PM   #7 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

We're not that type of service where you have to pay for support. We're just a forum that talks about technology and computers, as well as helping others with their problems, for free. Don't worry about it.

Can you please tell us the exact model of your HP? It should be labeled somewhere on the case.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 06:45 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

ok its p6126fpl for model number...S/N is MXU924O(or 0)G6
product # is:NP2O(or 0)7AA #ABA...does that help more?
SerenityMoon1 is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 07:02 PM   #9 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

Like Drogos said earlier your hard drive could be the problem. Are you able to get into Windows at all?

Well let's see if it's detected in the BIOS.

To get into the BIOS you have to press either the F2 or DEL buttons repeatedly once you press the power button. This will bring up the BIOS.

After you get into the BIOS you need to see if everything is detected. Hard drive, CD drive, floppy drive, RAM. You also need to see if the boot order is correct. You'd want it so the hard drive is the 1st priority.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 08-06-2010, 07:04 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2010
Posts: 11
Default Re: New build won't boot to windows

Quote:
Originally Posted by b1gapl View Post
Like Drogos said earlier your hard drive could be the problem. Are you able to get into Windows at all?

Well let's see if it's detected in the BIOS.

To get into the BIOS you have to press either the F2 or DEL buttons repeatedly once you press the power button. This will bring up the BIOS.

After you get into the BIOS you need to see if everything is detected. Hard drive, CD drive, floppy drive, RAM. You also need to see if the boot order is correct. You'd want it so the hard drive is the 1st priority.
no i cant log on or get to log on menu or desktop..it comes up and says what i told u right before logon screen is like a black screen with those words on it but i can go to boot menu or RAID menu... but not system recovery it wont let me get to that
__________________

SerenityMoon1 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Apple confirms Windows 7 support for Mac OS X boot camp Osiris Apple and Mac 0 10-23-2009 08:45 AM
Windows 7 Build 7000 Beta Review KSoD Official TF Reviews 11 02-15-2009 01:33 PM
xp sp3 beta not in add remove office politics Microsoft Windows and Software 10 01-10-2009 04:28 AM
List of News Prototype New Technology and Products 4 10-29-2008 04:29 AM
Booting Windows XP From An External Drive Osiris Apple and Mac 0 09-11-2008 09:23 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:37 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.