New Build Stopped Working - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-04-2008, 12:53 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 1
Default New Build Stopped Working

About four weeks ago I built my first PC. The thing ran excellent with no lock-ups, error messages, or crashes (running xp pro S3 x86). When I came back from vacation, I tried to boot up my pc and it would start up but then instantly turn off. I tested all parts and I found that when I remove both memory sticks, the computer starts up fine. How could two memory sticks go bad at the same time or did I fry them somehow?? Or are my mobo's DIMM slots bad?? Nothing is overclocked except for my CPU and I have excellent cooling. The memory is known to be compatible with my mobo. Any suggestions or ways to trouble shoot. I do not have a computer that has DDR2 800 Dimm slots so I cannot swap parts.

Specs:
2x 1gig Corsair TWIN2X2048-6400C5DHX
AMD Athlon 64x2 Brisbane 5000+ oced to 3.0ghz
MOBO: Abit AN-M2HD
2x 640gig WD Blue Cavier Sata 3.0 HDs RAID 0
Zalman CPS9500 AM2 HSF
EVGA Nvidia 8800GT 512 GPU
Rosewill 500watt PSU
NZXT Lexa Blackline Case
Sound Blaster Audigy 2zs Sound Card
Pioneer 215D DVD Drive Sata 2
__________________

MCSmithrs is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 01:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: New Build Stopped Working

does it work with just 1 stick in?
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 01:08 PM   #3 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: New Build Stopped Working

Did you OC your RAM with your CPU? I had 3 of my 4 Corsair Dominator C5D's die on me at the exact same time. Supposedly because I had them set to 2.25V when they were only rated for 2.2V. It was the same situation... Got up in the morning, turned my computer on and it wouldn't pass the POST. So booted with one stick in and it wouldn't do anything. Finally the last stick I tried worked... And then it died a week later.

I use Patriot Extreme now and haven't had a problem since. Rated for 2.2V and I have had them at 2.4V for about a year. Guess I should probably change my sig eh?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 08-04-2008, 07:08 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Posts: 4
Default Re: New Build Stopped Working

I agree with the post above..go into your bios and see what your voltages are for your ram and then check it against the proper voltage range. Your memory and cpu were probably linked and if your bios setting for voltages were left on auto, as you increased your cpu fsb it would have increased the voltage as well. I overclocked my rig as well and over voltaged the ram by .1 volts..I never trust my bios to monitor and changes voltages for me, I am exp. enough to change them on my own. See if your mobo will be compatible with G.Skill ram, that is what I use and you can OC that stuff like there is no tommorrow. Pick up 4 gigs if you can the stuff rocks.
zm307 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
prebuilt parts vs build your own parts encity5 New Systems | Building and Buying 12 04-28-2008 03:33 PM
2PCs, alpha plan for build jobmitsuo New Systems | Building and Buying 3 04-27-2008 02:31 PM
New build help encity5 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-26-2008 10:11 PM
Double Clicking/Hyperlinks and Drop Down Boxes Stopped Working!!! Help! Pdawg Microsoft Windows and Software 2 09-25-2007 09:59 AM
Sound not working techn00bie Computer Audio and Multimedia 0 04-11-2007 09:33 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:46 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.