new build problems - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-11-2005, 07:42 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default new build problems

A64 3400+
ECS Nforce4 939 board
KingMax 1024mb PC3200
Sapphire Radeon 9800Pro
SB Live Audigy
Maxtor ATA133 80gig
Asys 222L Case
Asys 450 watt PS


now, my problem is, i have everything installed, tested mobo/cpu/ram and it booted fine and temps holded as well as voltages from the PS

i connected my molex connectors to my cd-rom drives and rebooted and it posted good

finally connected the HD and the when i hit the power button the system just blips on for a split second then turns off

i tested the HD in another system and it loaded fine on it as a secondary drive.

what could be my problem??????
__________________

slacker126 is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Try different Molex.
Try different Master/Slave setting.
Clear CMOS.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 08:11 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default

tried all molex connectors, cleared the CMOS and the drive is on its own IDE and is set on master but ill try diff configs for the hell of it
slacker126 is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 08:14 PM   #4 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Try different IDE cable.
__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Old 09-11-2005, 08:25 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Posts: 3
Default

did that too...antec 18" round cable and still same result
slacker126 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:06 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.