New build power-up issue. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-23-2010, 11:34 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Default New build power-up issue.

Hi all, I just finished assembling my first computer and when I went to turn it on, it powers on for maybe 2 seconds and I hear all the fans just begin to whir on, then it beeps and auto-shuts off. The light on the mobo remains on and I've checked all the power connections multiple times and everything seems to be in the right places.

Parts:
Antec Basiq BP500U 500W Continuous Power ATX12V Version 2.01 Active PFC Power Supply - Retail
ASUS M4A785-M AM3/AM2+/AM2 AMD 785G HDMI Micro ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
AMD Phenom X3 8750 Black Edition Toliman 2.4GHz Socket AM2+ 95W Triple-Core Processor Model HD875ZWCGHBOX - Retail

I'll list out the rest of what I bought if it's necessary but apart from RAM this is all I'm running to isolate the issue. Any help with what might be wrong would be greatly appreciated.
__________________

Anexthesis is offline  
Old 01-23-2010, 12:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: New build power-up issue.

have you read the directions for the motherboard properly?

I had trouble with my build at first because it had really really picky instructions on how to install the RAM for the first boot :|

so make sure stuff like that is taken care of..if that's all good


try different RAM ( isolate if it's a RAM issue )

what video card are you using?
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 01-23-2010, 01:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: New build power-up issue.

I've read the motherboard manual basically back to front in trying to figure this out and it doesn't specify on RAM placement. I've tried it with 2 stick in varying positions and with 1 stick in the obvious 1st position, no difference. And for right now I haven't even installed the HD5770 I have until I disable the on-board HD4200.

I also just double checked on the grounding for the motherboard and nothing, that shouldn't be, is touching it.
Anexthesis is offline  
Old 01-23-2010, 02:03 PM   #4 (permalink)
Oldie but a goodie
 
oldskool's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2008
Location: Maine, USA
Posts: 1,762
Default Re: New build power-up issue.

Quote:
Originally Posted by Anexthesis View Post
I've read the motherboard manual basically back to front in trying to figure this out and it doesn't specify on RAM placement. I've tried it with 2 stick in varying positions and with 1 stick in the obvious 1st position, no difference. And for right now I haven't even installed the HD5770 I have until I disable the on-board HD4200.

I also just double checked on the grounding for the motherboard and nothing, that shouldn't be, is touching it.
Make sure the standoffs are tightened down, and all present. That can cause shorting, if those two criteria are not met.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
oldskool is offline  
Old 01-23-2010, 02:29 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: New build power-up issue.

All 6 of the standoffs that matchup to my mobo are present and I just retightened them all (one was a little loose) still changed nothing, powers on for 1-2 seconds then powers off with the mobo light staying on.
Anexthesis is offline  
Old 01-23-2010, 06:18 PM   #6 (permalink)
Seg Fault'n
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: The dried husk where America came from
Posts: 5,801
Default Re: New build power-up issue.

The mobo light will be on as long as the mobo is receiving power. My bet would be the PSU though, have you got any other H/W to test it on?
__________________


There are in order of increasing severity: lies, darn lies, statistics, and computer benchmarks. - diskinfo man page
"Get your money and let's go to court!" - Craig Mudie, MS
kmote is offline  
Old 01-23-2010, 11:29 PM   #7 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: New build power-up issue.

Does the board have a speaker?? Beep codes maybe?? Jumpers in the right places?? -Just my $0.02
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 01-25-2010, 02:36 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 9
Default Re: New build power-up issue.

Sorry for the big delay here I had to take a break from messing with it, was getting way too frustrated. So unfortunately I've no other hardware to check it against. My only other PSU won't fit in the new casing and the connectors are all wrong . I've checked the jumpers. And beep codes aren't telling me anything the darn thing won't stay on long enough to beep more than the 1 time.

My guess at this point is a faulty PSU so what should I do knowing that? I'm thinking either A: Get in touch with the manufacturer and get a 2nd unit (if they'll send one) or B: Go to a computer repair shop and have them switch out the PSU for a known good one to isolate the issue to either the PSU or the mobo and then contact the manufacturer?
__________________

Anexthesis is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Dell desktop won't power up - blinking orange light - power supply? VgRt6 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 21 12-23-2009 09:27 AM
*READ FIRST* Updated Power supply guide Ste System Upgrades 2 12-12-2009 09:30 PM
New build, 4 pin CPU power to 8 pin? Shafra New Systems | Building and Buying 7 12-19-2008 05:05 AM
Power supply issues - Dell inspiron 531 Yuffles System Upgrades 16 02-17-2008 03:59 PM
Strange Power issue Bubbain66 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 08-27-2007 12:43 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.