New build not working, need help ASAP - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-06-2007, 02:48 PM   #11 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New build not working, need help ASAP



The gold one, is a standoff screw. The standoffs need to be screwed onto the motherboard tray first. The other, is the screw you use, to fasten the motherboard onto those standoffs.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 05:28 PM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: New build not working, need help ASAP

Quote:
Originally Posted by krazyq View Post
????
what are stand of screws.
LOL...like i said, you might have a short. Before you totally think my idea is out of this world....try it and see what happens. Wouldn't hurt to try.
__________________

__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 06:29 PM   #13 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: New build not working, need help ASAP

I tried re doing everything, now my mobo isnt touching the tray, it stands on the stand off screws and still same thing happened. I plugged my gfx card back on to my old pc and it runs fine....im kinda worried about the idle temps are 62.
Im going to set up an 120 fan next to it to keep it cool. Im just doing this to test some games. Hopefully it will be ok with the fsp 450w psu i have. Im going to buy the board again and send this one back, they said theyre gonna upgrade the shipping for free so ill get it on monday.

Do you guys think i should still try something else or just get the new mobo....and is it safe with the fsp psu for just 3-4 days?
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 09-06-2007, 06:34 PM   #14 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: New build not working, need help ASAP

The FSP 450W that you have, meets more than the minimum, for the 8800GTS. So you don't have to worry there.

That really blows, after you tried all that. Maybe it was the motherboard that was possibly damaged, through it being shorted out. RMA, and see what happens.
__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 12:07 PM   #15 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: New build not working, need help ASAP

NEW EGG ROCK!!!...
Well i had to reorder it and they upgraded me to next day shipping for free so it will arrive on monday.

If i had called yesterday morning, it would be here today!!!.
NEw egg is great in customer service...

Ill be taking out my mobo today, i did realise a problem with the acfp...i will loose the pase sinceits already touching, unless its ok since i havent even turned the cpu on...

One of the pins did seem stuck on the mobo, so hopefully i dont have to use force.
Ill just show you a picture after i get everything out of the mobo...so you can confirm if i did everything right with the way i set the screws.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 12:23 PM   #16 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: New build not working, need help ASAP

so you shorted a mobo and got a replacement free? nice one
Nick is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 12:55 PM   #17 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: New build not working, need help ASAP

...i guess...
hopefully this time i dont do anything stupid and i get done with it faster than last.

I have my case all set up...hdd,dvd,psu,extra fan...

I had my wires all nicely set up, now everythingis a mess.
My room is a mess.
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 01:09 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
nu2duo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Neza
Posts: 423
Default Re: New build not working, need help ASAP

I'm confused. Did you not build your temp amd pc? If so, did you not use those standoffs that go under the mb?

Anyway, newegg is cool. No questions asked when returning stuff. Good luck
__________________
e6600@3.1 24/7 w/stock cooling. 2g Transcend Memory
3 hd's, 80-XP Pro, 500 and 320-Apps,Pics, Music, Videos
ATI Radeon HD 3450 512MB-I DON'T GAME!
Ultra PS, Ultra Mid Tower Case
Lite-on internal DVD-R, Samsung Lite-Scribe Ext. DVD-R
2 Acer 19" widescreen LCD's. For HTPC Olevia 32" LCD
nu2duo is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 01:17 PM   #19 (permalink)
Everything to Nothing
 
Nick's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: Wales
Posts: 4,053
Send a message via MSN to Nick
Default Re: New build not working, need help ASAP

his case like mine may have come with stand offs already on the tray, if they wernt they're i may have done th same thing
Nick is offline  
Old 09-07-2007, 01:29 PM   #20 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: New build not working, need help ASAP

well when i built the amd...the case i got was from my manager...i think it already had those on....

Thats the thing, i have never built one from scratch...i guess everything else except setting up the case.

Mine didnt have any screws on.
Ill post pics once i take out the mobo, and let me know if i've done it right, i dont wanna risk messing the new mobo, im sick of waiting.
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
new build and mic not working ESv1 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 09-01-2007 11:09 PM
A newb story: Buying is done...time to build jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 83 08-17-2007 12:42 PM
how to build a pc rebell07 New Systems | Building and Buying 15 08-12-2007 07:53 PM
Network connection stopped working!? farmboy1984 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 04-28-2007 05:31 PM
Please Help... ASAP - BUILD forlorn_ronin New Systems | Building and Buying 5 03-30-2007 09:20 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:36 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.