new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :) - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-10-2008, 12:54 AM   #11 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 81
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

are you using USB keyboard/mouse? if your using ps/2 try a usb keyboard odd i know but its happened before with bad connections from a faulty ps/2 plug from the kb or mouse
__________________

kagekitsune is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 12:56 AM   #12 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

using usb mouse and key board. they dont light up at all for some weird reason. mouse just lights once when i hit the power button, but thats it. keyboard doesnt light up at all
__________________

__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 01:01 AM   #13 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

My G15 doesn't light up until it's loaded Windows so that isn't a reliable source. The only thing I can think of now is there is some power source that isn't working properly. You might need to start testing your PSU.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 01:02 AM   #14 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 81
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

if your kb and mouse came with a ps/2 adaptor try that with just the kb. anything else should not be connected, just your kb and monitor. also question, your Hard drives are they sata or ide if they are IDE make sure they are on the same ribbon with the master plugged in the top end of the ribbon and the slave drive as the middle check jumper settings also.
kagekitsune is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 09:31 AM   #15 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

i am thinking that it might be the psu, coz what else could it be right?? but how do i perform a check on the PSU?? plz let me know.
i am using SATA hard drives. i dont have the ps/2 adapters, is there any other way of finding out??

thanks a lot for the support guys
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 12:14 PM   #16 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 81
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

you could just unplug the usb kb and mouse and try to power it on should still turn on. if not try a different psu.
kagekitsune is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 01:41 PM   #17 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

You can use a multimeter to check that enough power is flowing through all of the wires.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 11:01 PM   #18 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvb724 View Post
You can use a multimeter to check that enough power is flowing through all of the wires.
checked it with the multimeter, and everything seems to be fine. i also took it out of the case and set it up on a non conductive bench, but still nothing
any more suggestions
thanks
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 09-11-2008, 02:35 AM   #19 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

The only thing I can think of now is that you received a dead CPU. I know it's extremely rare but it does happen. Try changing that.
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
builbing computer, bought wrong hdd, new mobo. sona1111 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-22-2007 09:17 PM
New Build in Progress - Generic so far, would like to add a personality Sardonic New Systems | Building and Buying 41 08-26-2007 02:46 AM
Just bought an Open box mobo.. rx7i2 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-23-2007 12:26 AM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
Suggest a Mobo and Processor For What I Want to build spikoman69 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-10-2007 01:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:14 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.