new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :) - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2008, 06:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

hey guys. i bought my computer about 12 days ago and i built it. it wouldnt display anything. i got everyone's opinion and tried everything. but still there was no display. everything would turn on in the tower but no display on the monitor. so i asked my friends and everyone had diff answers so i tried them all. used different video card, RMA'd my mobo and got a different, used different RAM. but there is no display at all. i am very stresst out, i dont know what to do. could you guys suggest some things to me. the wierd part is that there is no beep at all.
it never beeps. i have tried everything that i could find on this forum and the internet, but i am not succeding at all

plz guys help me.

my specs
Q6600
Asus P5Q Pro
Ocz 2x1gb
corsair 520hx
antec 900
Evga 7900 gs (i've had this for a while)

plz guys help me out.
__________________

__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 08:38 PM   #2 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

Tried switching your monitor?
__________________

__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 09:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvb724 View Post
Tried switching your monitor?
yup, i switched monitors, video card, memory, motherboard, but i still dont get anything
no beeps, nothing
i also cleared cmos but nothing happened
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

Have you checked your BIOS to see if there is a option to turn off the onboard video? Some mobo's require that to use dedicated video cards.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 09:58 PM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

I don't believe the P5Q has onboard video.

If you tried switching RAM, have you tried only 1 stick. Change the stick to each of the slots if it doesn't pass the POST. Then try another stick in each slot again.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 10:33 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvb724 View Post
I don't believe the P5Q has onboard video.

If you tried switching RAM, have you tried only 1 stick. Change the stick to each of the slots if it doesn't pass the POST. Then try another stick in each slot again.
tried that too
didnt work
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 11:00 PM   #7 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

Have you checked the motherboards CPU socket for bent pins?
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 11:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by cvb724 View Post
Have you checked the motherboards CPU socket for bent pins?
well i tried a different mobo before and the same thing happened so i dont know if that is the prob.
the worst part is that i didnt know antec 900 didnt have built in case speakers for the beeps
__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 11:41 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2008
Location: detroit, mi
Posts: 81
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

check the power plugs on the MB, theres usually 2 one large normal one then a small 4 pin square one. make sure both are connected.
kagekitsune is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 12:25 AM   #10 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
siddanth3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: manchester, NH
Posts: 395
Default Re: new build, no display. tried everything, bought a diff mobo but still nothing :)

Quote:
Originally Posted by kagekitsune View Post
check the power plugs on the MB, theres usually 2 one large normal one then a small 4 pin square one. make sure both are connected.
they are both connected. as far as i know, i have connected everything properly. i have been taking it apart and putting it back together since the past couple of days but no luck
__________________

__________________
Antec 900
P4 prescott @3ghz HT 775
ViewSonic 20.1" lcd display + Samsung SyncMaster 2253
Corsair 2x512mb ddr2 533
FoxConn M7VMX-K LGA 775
FPS 400watt
WD 640 GB + WD 320 GB
Western Digital My Book 320gb
Evga 7900 GS
Sound Blaster Audigy
Logitech Navigation Keyboard
Razer Diamondback Plasma Blue
siddanth3 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
builbing computer, bought wrong hdd, new mobo. sona1111 New Systems | Building and Buying 8 10-22-2007 09:17 PM
New Build in Progress - Generic so far, would like to add a personality Sardonic New Systems | Building and Buying 41 08-26-2007 02:46 AM
Just bought an Open box mobo.. rx7i2 New Systems | Building and Buying 14 06-23-2007 12:26 AM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
Suggest a Mobo and Processor For What I Want to build spikoman69 New Systems | Building and Buying 7 04-10-2007 01:10 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:01 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.