New build issues - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-07-2019, 02:14 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: United States
Posts: 13
Default New build issues

Im sorry if this is lengthy. Please bare with me.

So my friend just got a new mobo, cpu, ram and we switched it out but once we got to the user login screen the mouse and keyboard werent functioning. After a 30secs or so we got a bsod.

0x0000003B (0x0000000C0000096, 0xFFFFF880p465800E, 0xFFFFF88002A3AE00, 0x0000000000000000)

We tried to google search if anyone had similar issues and a bunch pointed that the 0x3B error was corrupted drivers. Apparently there was a hotfix for it but Microsoft took it down and said upgrade to windows 10 (friend has windows 7). We installed his old build, updated all of his drivers, put in the new build, checked if we could login, still had the same bsod.
Then we put back his old build and tried upgrading to windows 10 but the Windows tool said his computer cannot be upgraded from windows 7 to windows 10.

(OLD)
Intel i5-4440
Asus H81M-K LGA 1150
8GB RAM (4GBx2) DDR3 1600mhz
500watt Corsiar PSU
GTX 1060 6GB
1TB Harddrive (400GB Free)

(NEW)
Ryzen 1500X
Gigabyte B450m DS3H AM4
16GB RAM (8GBx2) DDR4 3000Mhz
500watt Corsair PSU
GTX 1060 6GB
1TB Harddrive (400GB Free)

Now were stuck and unsure where to go from here. He said hes willing to buy the Windows 10 Home 64bit OEM but doesnt know if hell be able to install it on his hard drive.
__________________

__________________
iRaizen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 12:09 AM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
 
kalju's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2016
Location: EU
Posts: 117
Default Re: New build issues

1. Can not understand anything. Did you just swap those things (mobo, cpu, ram) on the same motherboard? And You did nothing else? Not even the BIOS did update (of course, if such an exchange is at all possible - I very much doubt it is possible, because details, what You gave let very deeply doubt, that it is possible).

2. The second thing You said - there was Windows 7 installed and You want to upgrade? It should be possible without any problems with this(those) processor(s). And if there was before installed and activated Windows 7 then You don't need to buy any key, this upgrade is free for all Windows 7 and Windows 8 users.
__________________

__________________
kalju is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 05:08 AM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,626
Default Re: New build issues

If you replaced the motherboard/CPU without any prep to the hard drive then of course it is going to BSOD on you. Intel's and AMD's chipsets are completely different so Windows crapped the bed. If you can get it running again in the original hardware you need to sysprep it before swapping it over. If that fails you will probably be looking at a reinstall.
__________________
Cougar MX330-G / Antec EA650 650W / Zotac GTX 1660 AMP
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 / MSI B350 Gaming Plus / Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD
WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB / 2x16GB Corsair Vengence RGB
Win10 Pro x64 / Razer DeathAdder Elite / Tecware 87 Key Mechanical

R.I.P. Father Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-08-2019, 02:41 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Great Lakes State
Posts: 3,509
Default Re: New build issues

Your best option is a back up of data from the hard drive and a clean install of Windows 7. You should be able to get Windows 7 drivers from Gigabyte. Fernando has "pure" usb 3.x drivers that you can use during your install if that becomes an issue.
https://www.win-raid.com/t834f25-USB...nd-modded.html
__________________
Windows 10 .... It wants to be found and installed so it can be the one Operating System to rule us all.
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 05:57 AM   #5 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,061
Default Re: New build issues

Your issue was trying to put Ryzen on Windows 7. Install is now borked so a fresh install of 10 is required.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-13-2019, 02:10 PM   #6 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Great Lakes State
Posts: 3,509
Default Re: New build issues

People have had success with getting Ryzen with Windows 7, but it takes some effort.
With the Ryzen Raven Ridge APU's... ain't going to happen at all with windows 7.
With 7 coming closer and closer to EOL, it's really not worth that much trouble to get 7 onto a Ryzen cpu.

Gigabyte does provide support for Windows 7 on the download page for that mobo...
Quote:
Windows USB Installation Tool
(Note) Support AMD X470/B450 series motherboards.
OS: Windows 7 64bit,Windows 7 32bit
https://www.gigabyte.com/us/Motherbo...ort-dl-utility
__________________
Windows 10 .... It wants to be found and installed so it can be the one Operating System to rule us all.
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 08:39 AM   #7 (permalink)
Build Guru
 
PP Mguire's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Location: Fort Worth, Texas
Posts: 30,061
Default Re: New build issues

That is true, but he moved a dirty install over to Ryzen then tried moving back.
__________________
"Resolution is just a number." #Ubisoft
Origin/Steam = PP_Mguire Twitch = pp_mguire Instagram = ppmguire PSN = PP_Mguire

Access to my Plex PM me.
PP Mguire is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-14-2019, 09:39 AM   #8 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Join Date: May 2011
Location: Great Lakes State
Posts: 3,509
Default Re: New build issues

yup, the op should do a clean install of 10 with the same version of his windows 7 key, and then use the windows 7 key to validate the windows 10 install to get a digital license.
__________________

__________________
Windows 10 .... It wants to be found and installed so it can be the one Operating System to rule us all.
Joe C is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Hard drive problems - boot issues, waking issues NightJack Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-27-2011 08:53 PM
Battlefield 2/gamespy ID issues, and mic issues. Help! Chad711 PC Gaming 14 09-07-2009 02:19 PM
Issues issues issues. Vista-64bit. 9600GT's in SLI. 4GB Vista problems. Oy Vey. TheOtis Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 03-24-2008 11:59 AM
Virus --> Sound Issues --> Reformat --> Still Sound Issues craw4d42 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 02-09-2007 04:37 PM
New Build / Possible Video Card Issues scj6771 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 06-16-2006 07:14 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2019, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.