New build booted few times, now won't even POST - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-04-2006, 04:32 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to brianf408
Default New build booted few times, now won't even POST

Hello everyone, this is my first post here and unfortunately it's me seeking help with my computer problem.

I just built a new machine the other day, since my 4yo build just wasn't cutting it anymore. Spec:

AMD X2 3800+
Asus M2N4 SLI mobo
Sapphire ATI x1900xt 256mb
G.Skill 1gb DDR2-800 ram
Audigy 4
160gb SATA hddrive
Rosewill 450w psu

My problem:
Everything went together quite nicely, computer booted up to the BIOS on it's first boot, then I got it to boot from the WinXP cd to start installing. After Windows setup's first restart, the computer just lost display, wouldn't post, and gave the Asus sound error for not seeing a video adaptor (1 long beep, followed by 2 short). Every time I'd try to power on the computer I would have no display, and just get the beeping. All fans powered up, everything connected (Best Buy's GeekSquad even confirmed this).

After must frustration I've RMA'd the motherboard, video card, and ram to Newegg, and am currently awaiting replacements. I'm replacing the ram with a Corsair stick that is specifically recommended by Asus for my board. I just want to know what could have caused such a problem? I've seen problems like this before with parts that were defective out of the box, but for a problem like this to arise after the computer had run a bit just seems very strange to me. Mostly I want to make sure that it's not a PSU or processor issue so I don't mess up more new parts when they arrive in a couple weeks.

Any help is greatly appreciated, I used to know computer stuff pretty well but got out of the loop with new technology a couple years ago.

Thanks,
Brian
__________________

brianf408 is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 07:35 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

1 Long, then 2 Short Beeps: Video error <awardB12-c.html>

did u ground urself when u put the computer together?
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 10-04-2006, 10:08 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Posts: 2
Send a message via AIM to brianf408
Default

yes I grounded myself when working on it, I have a groundwire bracelet for working on cars.

I guess my biggest concern is if my processor is messed up, because I dont' want to get all the other new hardware and still have the same problem ya know?
brianf408 is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 07:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default

try using the stock video that is built in the mobo , if u hav none then try borrowing one and see if the mobo works
__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:04 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.