new build - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-04-2008, 02:49 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: McGregor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Send a message via Yahoo to harpo
Question new build

Hi, Rick here. I need a little help please. I built a new computer on 11/28/08.
here's what went into it.

Asus Nvidia Nforce 790 SLI Striker II NSE motherboard

EVGA E-Geforce 9600GT Dx10 ready 1gb DDR3 video card

OCZ DDR3 PC3-12800
special op urban elite 1600mhz 2- 2gb sticks (4gb).

Intel Core 2 Quad Q6700 Processor - 2.66GHz, 8MB Cache, 1066MHz FSB, Kentsfield, Quad-Core, OEM, Socket 775, Processor

Ultra LSP750 750-Watt Power Supply - ATX, SATA-Ready, SLI-Ready, 135mm Fan

Thermaltake / Silent 775D / Socket 775 / Copper Core / Copper Heatpipes / CPU Fan

Now, my problem is that after booting up , a short time later it freezes up on me. was wondering if I have conflicting parts that I don't know about or if bios are set wrong or.......??
This is my first build and I am at a loss. Please help!! thanks

Sorry, forgot to add a couple of things.

O/S is Windows XP Pro

HDD is Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 750GB Hard Drive - 7200, 16MB, Serial ATA-300, OEM
__________________

harpo is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 01:07 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: new build

Freezing? Have you checked your cables, plugs, if it's starting and stopping intermediately, are you having a blue screen?

Have you updated all of your drivers ?
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 01:15 AM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
aaronkupen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Pittsburgh, PA
Posts: 1,848
Send a message via AIM to aaronkupen Send a message via Yahoo to aaronkupen
Default Re: new build

You should put this in the hardware troubleshooting section for better hits.
__________________
Desktop - Antec Sonata III
Intel Core i3 540
4 GB DDR3-1600 memory
ATI Radeon HD 5670
Windows Vista Business x64
aaronkupen is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 03:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Patron
 
saltynay's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: West Coast, Singapore
Posts: 5,149
Default Re: new build

You should of come to us before building we could of improved that build quite a bit and saved you some cash. Where exactly does it crash? does windows boot or do you only get upto the bios.
__________________
saltynay is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 06:27 AM   #5 (permalink)
I don't overclock
 
Fat.Clown's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Location: offline
Posts: 3,326
Default Re: new build

run memtest86
Fat.Clown is offline  
Old 12-05-2008, 10:24 AM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: McGregor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Send a message via Yahoo to harpo
Default

I wish I would of found this forum before I bought my computer. People here are very helpfull. My loss.

Sorry for slow replies, windows does boot up. Seems as if it freezes when the screen saver starts up. No blue screens, just mouse and keyboard freezes. If I do a reboot, everything is fine for a few minutes then freezes again.
harpo is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 01:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: new build

Quote:
Originally Posted by harpo View Post
Sorry for slow replies, windows does boot up. Seems as if it freezes when the screen saver starts up. No blue screens, just mouse and keyboard freezes. If I do a reboot, everything is fine for a few minutes then freezes again.
Have you ran memtest yet?
__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 02:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
disgruntled ex-moderator
 
Nagasama's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2006
Location: probably on the lake
Posts: 6,956
Default Re: new build

ram ram ram (or mobo, depending on how you look at it).
well documented that 790i and OCZ dont play well together.
__________________
"nagasama no longer drinks tecate, or streaks out of the night for anything, and he has a fine wife so he has no use for your girlfriend...she is safe..."
Nagasama is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 03:52 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2008
Location: McGregor, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 8
Send a message via Yahoo to harpo
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by Nagasama View Post
ram ram ram (or mobo, depending on how you look at it).
well documented that 790i and OCZ dont play well together.
thank you for that info....can you direct me to a good ram for my motherboard??

Quote:
Originally Posted by objecterror View Post
Have you ran memtest yet?
I'm sorry, don't really know how to do that.
harpo is offline  
Old 12-08-2008, 07:20 PM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
objecterror's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2006
Location: United States
Posts: 731
Default Re: new build

Quote:
Originally Posted by harpo View Post
I'm sorry, don't really know how to do that.
Memtest 86 is a ram testing program that checks bad memory sectors. You can google it for further information.

Quote:
Originally Posted by harpo View Post
thank you for that info....can you direct me to a good ram for my motherboard??
Pulled up some corsair ram
Newegg.com - CORSAIR XMS3 DHX 4GB (2 x 2GB) 240-Pin DDR3 SDRAM DDR3 1600 (PC3 12800) Dual Channel Kit Desktop Memory - Desktop Memory
not to sure what else you could use seeing that this is strange that ram simply won't work on a board.
__________________

__________________
"After it's all said and done, more will be said than done." -- Quote by Somebody

Steam @ objecterror
objecterror is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help me build system on Q6600? yexusbeliever New Systems | Building and Buying 5 01-26-2008 12:34 AM
Budget build in a few months Drizzt System Upgrades 4 01-09-2008 12:56 PM
Super Budget Build - How does it sound to you? spikoman69 New Systems | Building and Buying 31 01-07-2008 10:43 PM
1st build, high end pc, non-gamer ksmart New Systems | Building and Buying 14 11-04-2007 05:51 PM
Computer Building Tutorials (videos)... first build OnlyCurious New Systems | Building and Buying 5 07-15-2007 12:18 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.