New barebones freezing up during widows install - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 04-22-2009, 07:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 1
Question New barebones freezing up during widows install

hi, I just put together a new machine. I have a ASUS M2N68-VM MOTHERBOARD, AMD DUAL CORE ATHLON 64 6000+ PROCESSOR, 2 - 1 gig sticks of PC2-6400 DDR2-800MHz 240-Pin SDRAM, and a new 40 gig maxtor HD. I get windows to load , and it gets to the point of preparing for installation, 39 minutes remaining. It actually freezes at the same exact point everytime. Right where windows says something about video and pictures are easy to share ect.. I think that it may not be accessing the information from my dvd-rom drive. Ive noticed that windows loads to that point without spinning my dvd-rom. If my dvdrom isn't compatible with my motherboard, wouldn't it not work from the start? Or not even show up in my bios? Im lost everything is new except for my dvd-rom. Oh yea I tried 3 different xp discs. Please help Thanks

typeographic is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 01:55 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Hefemeister's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: New barebones freezing up during widows install

Have you tried installing windows with only one stick of ram installed?

What version of windows are you installing?

For your hard drive and dvd drive are they ide or sata?

Do you have access to a different dvd drive to try to use for the install process?

ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 04-23-2009, 10:14 AM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Apr 2009
Posts: 4
Default Re: New barebones freezing up during widows install

A "NEW" 40 GB Maxtor hard drive???

I would put money on it that the hard drive is bad. When you do the install do a "full" format versus the quick one and see if that works.
EliTheComputerGuy is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
DBD::mysql Perl module install CrazeD Linux and Open Source 4 02-28-2009 04:37 PM
Having to install XP first b4 others Hampton Microsoft Windows and Software 6 01-26-2009 06:32 PM
Install Linux on a USB drive with UNetbootin Osiris Linux Tips and Tricks 0 12-16-2008 05:11 PM
Games freezing during install MaV II DARK II Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 10-12-2008 03:31 PM
500gig externaal usb HD ziceman Microsoft Windows and Software 6 03-13-2008 12:24 AM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:58 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.