"A network cable is unplugged"; only, not your average issue - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-24-2007, 03:41 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default "A network cable is unplugged"; only, not your average issue

Hi, I searched around for a while and all of the issues involving this statement are not my problem. Basically I have a working, though recently run, cat 5e cable outlet to my room. It works perfectly with the laptop I am typing on at the moment, so the wall socket and the cable itself are fine. When I plug this same cable into my desktop all I get is the "a network cable is unplugged" line. There are no lights on the card in the back, and yes it is a pci card. A few days ago, as I pulled out one of my usb devices, something may have arc'ed and the whole pc shut down. Ever since, the networking card does not function, as described. I grabbed another card from my parents house and threw that in, hoping that the original card had just been fried, but that did not solve the problem. The new card was correctly detected by windows and is supposedly opperating correctly. I am stumped and was hoping somebody could shed some light as to what may have gone wrong, and if so, how I might fix it. There is no trace of anything else being wrong other than neither network card lights up and no attempt is made to get an IP address from my router.
Thanks for any help and sorry for being long winded.
__________________

BeratE is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 03:56 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: "A network cable is unplugged"; only, not your average issue

You might try rebooting the router while the pc is hooked up and powered. I had a similar issue with my cable modem not giving me any connectivity when i built my new machine. It is probably considering the new card as a new device and not seeing it.
__________________

__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 04:00 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: "A network cable is unplugged"; only, not your average issue

Sadly I already tried that, but got nowhere. I just can't image what could phsicallygo wrong on the mobo but not affect anything else
BeratE is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 04:01 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: "A network cable is unplugged"; only, not your average issue

Does device manager see the card? Are the correct drivers installed? Have you tried the cards in different pci slots?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 04:03 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
veedubfreak's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6,979
Default Re: "A network cable is unplugged"; only, not your average issue

Well i had my cat chew through a usb cable and completely short out the onboard usb and network, so stranger things can happen. Have you tried going into the dos command and try a loopback. If i recall correctly its just ping 127.0.0.1

Also try doing an ipconfig /all and check to see if it shows a good network device > ipconfig /release then ipconfig /renew
__________________
Nothing to see here.
veedubfreak is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 04:14 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: "A network cable is unplugged"; only, not your average issue

Thanks for sticking with me. I tried the loopback and four of four sent packets were received, so I guess everthing looks good there. What does that maneuver tell me?

I then used ipconfig and it says "media disconnected"
What should I try next?
Thanks for your help
BeratE is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 04:17 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Hefemeister's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Sweden
Posts: 9,093
Default Re: "A network cable is unplugged"; only, not your average issue

have you looked at these yet?

Quote:
Originally Posted by hefemeister View Post
Does device manager see the card? Are the correct drivers installed? Have you tried the cards in different pci slots?
__________________
ASUS P6T Deluxe V2 :: INTEL i7 920 @3.4 :: XFX GTX260 :: 6gb Corsair 1600 :: Corsair 750TX :: TRUE 120 :: Samsung T240 24" :: Windows 7 X64

I do not accept support questions via PM

"Those who would give up essential liberty to purchase a little temporary safety deserve neither liberty nor safety."
Hefemeister is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 04:27 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: "A network cable is unplugged"; only, not your average issue

Sorry, yes I have checked and tried about four different pci slots
BeratE is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 04:31 PM   #9 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: "A network cable is unplugged"; only, not your average issue

Do you have the correct drivers installed for the card? Also, do you have your PC set up with a static IP or DHCP? Check your TCP/IP settings and check your DHCP client service to see if it is started.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 08-24-2007, 04:39 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: "A network cable is unplugged"; only, not your average issue

The PC isset up currently for DHCP but I did try static, with no change. I also checked to see that theDHCP was started and it is. As far as the driver is concerned, windows recognized the card and installed drivers, so I have not doubted that it is the correct one. There isn't really any markings on the card itself so I cannot look for a better driver. It is just your run of the mill Intel NIC
__________________

BeratE is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Network cable causes lockup ?? s37d Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 12 08-09-2007 11:25 AM
Network Cable Unplugged.. Link2181 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 13 07-26-2007 04:54 AM
"Network cable unplugged" Romey Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 1 07-20-2007 09:45 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:47 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.