Network Cable Unplugged.. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-24-2007, 12:38 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Network Cable Unplugged..

Hello Everyone...

Please bare with me as I am trying to recall everything that has happened in the past 48 hours.

My older brother who is VERY computer illiterate and lives about 25 hours away called and said his internet hadn't been working for about a week. The very small cable/dsl provider has been to his house and fixed some outside wires or something from a bad storm.

He doesn't connect the computer to a cable modem but merely a place in his wall which then runs outside to a box.

He has connected another friends computer, and his xbox to the current line using the current ethernet cable and all can access the internet. So the problem must be software or hardware?

When he does ipconfig /all he gets a media state disconnected and NO IP at all, so there is nothing to ping.

He has installed a new NIC as the other was onboard, the NIC comes up in System Devices just fine with no errors, but he isn't getting any lights on the card. It's a cheap Network Everywhere card made from Linksys which I don't think is supported in Windows XP.

Any suggestions to fixing this? I have had him do every possible netsh command, and lastnight he was so ticked off he reinstalled windows after wiping it clean *yes very irrational*

Please help
__________________

Link2181 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 02:51 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2007
Posts: 412
Default Re: Network Cable Unplugged..

Did ya try a different ethernet/Cat 5 cable?
__________________

__________________
Case: COOLER MASTER Centurion 5
Mobo: GIGABYTE GA-P35-DS3R
CPU: Intel Core Duo E6750 2.66GHz @ 3.2GHz
GPU: EVGA GeForce 8800GTS 320MB
PSU: CORSAIR CMPSU-520HX 520W
RAM: G.SKILL 2GB (2 x 1GB) DDR2 800
(RIP) HDD 1: Seagate Barracuda 7200.10 320GB
HDD 1: Western Digital Caviar Blue 320 GB
HDD 2: Seagate Barracuda 7200.11 500GB
HDD 3: Western Digital Caviar Black 1TB
HS: ARCTIC COOLING Freezer 7 Pro 92mm CPU Cooler
OS: Windows XP 32 Bit Home :rolleyes:
Audio: Maya1010 Pci with Breakout Box
BlueHeaven is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 03:57 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Network Cable Unplugged..

Yes he did, he used one that worked for his Xbox live, and the one he is currently using worked for his friends laptop.
Link2181 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 04:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default Re: Network Cable Unplugged..

Uhh, did you go to network connections tab in the control panel and make sure everything is kosher there?
wicked23 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 04:18 PM   #5 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default Re: Network Cable Unplugged..

You have to click on properties and make sure your network connection is configured to use new nic card and not still pointed at onboard device.
wicked23 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 05:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Network Cable Unplugged..

In system devices the NIC card seems to be functioning correctly and is being detected.

Under the network connections, the new NIC card is the one being used, I have even had him disable the onboard nic.
Link2181 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 05:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Repeat Offender
 
superdave1984's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: South Fulton, TN
Posts: 1,980
Default Re: Network Cable Unplugged..

Look to be sure the DHCP client service is running.
__________________
Change the world. Of one person. Today.

If your equation requires either a complex combination of variables to get the desired result OR you can't seem to get the result regardless of the variables....it ain't your variables, it's your constant.
superdave1984 is offline  
Old 07-24-2007, 06:43 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Network Cable Unplugged..

Quote:
Originally Posted by superdave1984 View Post
Look to be sure the DHCP client service is running.
I think I've done this with him, I had him go to: Control Panel, Admin Tools, Services and made sure DHCP Client was active/started.

Is this what you are talking of?
Link2181 is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 04:24 AM   #9 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,665
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Network Cable Unplugged..

yep, that would have been what he meant. it sounds to me like the card isnt configured correctly. btw just because no lights come on doesnt mean there is a problem. Tell him to manually set the ip address and default gateway for the new NIC.
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 07-25-2007, 12:08 PM   #10 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Posts: 6
Default Re: Network Cable Unplugged..

I've had him use the IP and Gateway that came up when his Xbox Live got connected, and still a no go.

Hopefully he can get to a store that has a NIC card so he can give another a go. He lives in a really small town in Northern MN..
__________________

Link2181 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
The end of net neutrality = bad kfc469 Off Topic Discussion 34 08-27-2009 08:03 AM
POST Troubleshooting Guide SYL\X/3K Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 7 03-07-2009 11:24 AM
Boosting range of wireless router with a second unit. Jlagreca Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 06-16-2007 06:17 PM
Network cable unplugged? bandit390 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 2 06-02-2007 12:54 PM
answer me this.. LAN cable DOESNT WORK with certain PCs. clever_j Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 3 05-26-2007 01:23 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.