Netgear DG834Gv2 connects to WG111v2 but not to WG111v3. Why ? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2009, 12:04 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Stockholm, Sweden
Posts: 1
Default Netgear DG834Gv2 connects to WG111v2 but not to WG111v3. Why ?

I have recenty bought two Netgear WG111v3 to expand my home network, based on an Netgear DG834Gv2 ADSL Router/Firewall.

One earlier installed wireless connection is between a WG111v2 and the DG834Gv2. This connection was easy to establish and has always worked perfectly. (Windows XP Prof)

When I now try to establish a WG111v3 connection to the DG834Gv2 from a PC with Vista Home Premium, I simply do not succeed. I have removed the WEP encryption on the DG834Gv2 but that makes no difference. The Netgear Connection Wizzard installs the software and firmware (latest version) on the Vista PC without any problem, the Wizzard detects the DG834Gv2 based WLAN readily, but refuses to connect to the WG111v3.

Most grateful for your input or suggestion.

One day later: I got in touch with Netgear telephone support i Sweden, who explained to me that one must add the MAC-addresses of the two WG111v3 devices to the DG834Gv2 firmware in order to establish the connection.

Problem solved.
__________________

Wladimiroff is offline  
Old 11-22-2009, 04:43 PM   #2 (permalink)
Imperial Space Womble
 
Harper's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2004
Location: Australia
Posts: 6,903
Default Re: Netgear DG834Gv2 connects to WG111v2 but not to WG111v3. Why ?

Make sure you have downloaded the WG111v3 drivers and remove all the WG111v2 drivers before installing.
__________________

"I FEEL SO GOOD I FEEL SO NUMB, YEAH!!!" -- Rob Zombie
Main Rig - AMD FX-8350x8 4.0Ghz CPU, 4x 8Gb (32Gb) DDR3 Ram, Gigabyte GA-970A-D3, GeForce GT 970 4Gb, 1x 256Gb SSD\8Tb (3+2+2+1) SATA HDD, DVDRW, SB X-Fi, Win 10 (64-bit)
Asus N61JV-JX231V - Intel Core i5 3437u (1.9 - 2.4 GHz), 12GB, 640GB, 16" Display, nVidia 325M 1Gb, DVD-RW, Win 10 (64-bit)
Mobile Phone : Samsung Galaxy 5 Note SM-N920IConsole : Play Station 4
Harper is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
netgear wg111v2 driver issue keba Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 03-20-2009 08:20 PM
Netgear DG834 IP Address changing Poe1974 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 11 02-17-2008 11:26 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.