Need speaker help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-15-2006, 08:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default Need speaker help

ive got the 5.1 Monster Gamer Speakers for xbox, and im connecting them right now to my pc...but it only recognizes it as 2 channel. The system only has an rca output (red and white connecters) which ive got connected to my pc (green input) using a Right/left rca to mini plug cord. How can i make it so connecting them to my pc will be recognized as 5.1....
__________________

__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 09:11 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

You need to get more rca to mini adaptors/spitter's and use the other ports. Did you install the realtek drivers from the mobo cd? Their program will tell you where to hook it up. and then click on detect.
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-15-2006, 09:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

ok so your saying instead of plugging everything into the sub woofer..get 2 more splitters and hook the 3 up individually?
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 12:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

that doesnt seem to work... i mean plugging speakers directly into the pc.... do they get no power??
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 03:59 PM   #5 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

No the inputs/outputs that are supposed to go to the xbox need to be split and converted to mini. Give me a link to the speaker system you bought!
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 04:53 PM   #6 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

http://www.shentech.com/mogaxgss51su.html

thanks btw

If you need to know anything that site doesnt tell you lmk...
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 05:26 PM   #7 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

so it looks like i need to split RCA L&R into 3 mini plugs..... whats the easiest way to do this? is there such a connecter....with 3 mini female one side and one pair of rca female or another mini female on other side?
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 05-16-2006, 08:28 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

I have been searching all night, that system is the only one I came across for the xbox that doesn't come with a pc cable. I just read your post And I am not sure if that will work. This is how I think it would work you need to split your two rca outs into 4 mini males and one to green one to blue one to orange and one to black The auto sensing would do the rest. Don't forget you have to be playing a 5.1 game. And radio shack would have everything you wanted
__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Old 05-17-2006, 02:49 AM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 443
Default

ok thanks for all your help. I bought some stuff im gonna go try it now... but heck 30$ in adapters ...hope this works :P
__________________
Alienware m5550
Intel Core Duo T2300
ATI Radeon x1400 256mb
2x 512mb Ram

Logitech G7
Creative GigaWorks T-20
--------------------------
blaackoran is offline  
Old 05-17-2006, 04:14 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
FlashDude's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: NB, Canada
Posts: 1,232
Send a message via MSN to FlashDude
Default

My fingers are crossed as well!!!
__________________

__________________
FlashDude is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off



Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities


Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:27 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.