Need some real SLI help :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-24-2010, 06:43 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Need some real SLI help :(

So I finally got my second gtx 260 and I put it in and attached the sli link and then powered the system up and enabled sli in the nvidia and everything seems fine but if i try to open a game or 3dmark06 the colors get all screwed up and there are artifacts and all kinds of crazy stuff. Each of the cards work by themselves and each of the pcie slots work because I just tried them out individually. I am lost at what is causing this. Any help would be nice. I was excited to get this up and going and now its really making me mad. I also just updated all of the drivers and that good stuff.
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Case
OCZ 600W GameXStream PSU
MSI NF750-G55 MB
Phenom II X3 720 3.6GHz
Patriot Warp 64GB SSD
2 x 2GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
2x GTX 260's for SLI
WIndows 7 32 bit
blasterfreak88 is offline  
Old 05-24-2010, 07:17 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Need some real SLI help :(

Is one of the cards a "OC" version? When SLI 1st came out if the cards had different speeds they would default to the lowest value. Nowadays whatever card is in the 1st slot is usually designated as the master, so to speak, and both cards will run at whatever speed it's set to.

When you installed the new drivers did you run Driver Sweeper 1st. Sometimes an old file will remain and screw everything up.

Make sure the second card is fully snaped into the slot and nothing is acting as an obstruction.

Your power supply might be getting weak, have you looked at your 12v power output under load? Use Hardware Monitor.
http://www.cpuid.com/hwmonitor.php
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-24-2010, 08:36 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Re: Need some real SLI help :(

I checked for the card being in the slot first thing and I am currently running with one card which is in the slot which could have some stuff blocking it and it runs fine. I did not use drive sweeper but I am about to get off of here and try that. I watched the +12v on the hd monitor while I was doing 3dmark06 and it went from 12.41 to 12.32 the whole time while it was loaded. Is this bad or is it ok?
__________________
Antec 300 Case
OCZ 600W GameXStream PSU
MSI NF750-G55 MB
Phenom II X3 720 3.6GHz
Patriot Warp 64GB SSD
2 x 2GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
2x GTX 260's for SLI
WIndows 7 32 bit
blasterfreak88 is offline  
Old 05-24-2010, 10:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Re: Need some real SLI help :(

Well I figured out that the new evga has slightly lower specs so I put it in the 1 pcie slot and that cleared up the colors and artifacting and stuff.But now the preformance is worse than with my single card in? What could cause this. This is my first go at sli so sorry that I am so stupid about it
__________________
Antec 300 Case
OCZ 600W GameXStream PSU
MSI NF750-G55 MB
Phenom II X3 720 3.6GHz
Patriot Warp 64GB SSD
2 x 2GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
2x GTX 260's for SLI
WIndows 7 32 bit
blasterfreak88 is offline  
Old 05-24-2010, 10:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: Need some real SLI help :(

Stupid is as stupid does (just had to say that)

I never used SLI, but can you overclock or underclock it?
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 05-24-2010, 10:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Re: Need some real SLI help :(

Since I put the lower card in the primary slot it has them both underclocked. But its still doing strange things.
__________________
Antec 300 Case
OCZ 600W GameXStream PSU
MSI NF750-G55 MB
Phenom II X3 720 3.6GHz
Patriot Warp 64GB SSD
2 x 2GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
2x GTX 260's for SLI
WIndows 7 32 bit
blasterfreak88 is offline  
Old 05-24-2010, 10:50 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
S0ULphIRE's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: Australia
Posts: 8,669
Send a message via MSN to S0ULphIRE
Default Re: Need some real SLI help :(

Both are underclocked, or just the second card (which was overclocked) is now running at stock?
__________________
"As a result of all this hardship, dirt, thirst, and wombats, you would expect Australians to be a sour lot. Instead, they are genial, jolly, cheerful, and always willing to share a kind word with a stranger, unless they are an American." -- Douglas Adams
S0ULphIRE is offline  
Old 05-25-2010, 08:01 AM   #8 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Need some real SLI help :(

Uninstall and reinstall the drivers now that you've switched the cards around
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-25-2010, 09:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2010
Location: Toledo Ohio
Posts: 82
Default Re: Need some real SLI help :(

I did some playing around with the slots and card and I just realized that neither of the cards and working very well in the 1 slot so I am RMA ing the motherboard.
__________________

__________________
Antec 300 Case
OCZ 600W GameXStream PSU
MSI NF750-G55 MB
Phenom II X3 720 3.6GHz
Patriot Warp 64GB SSD
2 x 2GB Corsair DDR3 RAM
2x GTX 260's for SLI
WIndows 7 32 bit
blasterfreak88 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
EVGA Announces New 4-Way SLI Platform Osiris New Technology and Products 6 09-06-2009 07:35 AM
EVGA SLI Enhancement Patch Shumway Microsoft Windows and Software 0 08-26-2009 03:46 PM
8800GT SLI with 9800GT? Karlos New Systems | Building and Buying 14 08-03-2008 10:53 PM
Dual monitors in sli? Drizzt New Systems | Building and Buying 21 01-27-2008 01:09 AM
Intel X38 Supports SLI ? maroon1 New Systems | Building and Buying 3 09-19-2007 03:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:52 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.