need more pci-e slots! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-24-2010, 08:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2010
Posts: 4
Default need more pci-e slots!

here's a photo of my guts
http://i50.tinypic.com/op8c9j.jpg
(what slots are those next to the ram that are black? just for more ram?)
as you can see.. i only have one pci express slot. i need two. one for my sound card.. and one for a black magic capture card. i also have a laptop. my two questions are

is there any way to get more pci-e slots for my computer?
or
can i get a pci-e slot for my laptop

appreciate all replies.
__________________

labelthief is offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 09:24 PM   #2 (permalink)
muffin enthusiast
 
Join Date: May 2009
Location: new york
Posts: 2,724
Default Re: need more pci-e slots!

yea, the slots next to your current ram is just for more ram.

i think the only way for you to get more pci-e slots would be to get another mobo.
__________________

Muffin Man is offline  
Old 01-24-2010, 09:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Papa Chester
 
Antec-User's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2008
Location: Afghanistan Campaign Veteran
Posts: 1,036
Send a message via MSN to Antec-User
Default Re: need more pci-e slots!

your rig needs a good blow-job first of all..

and yeah, you'd need a different mobo.
__________________
PII 940 @ 3.8g | Gigabyte DS4H | OCZ Reaper 1066 | HD 4870 1G | Ultra X3 1000w | Antec 900 | 1/2" CPU/GPU LIQUID LOOP | OCZ SSD | Swiftech + XSPC


<---- If You enjoyed my ramblings, or if I've helped you, Check me... :D
Antec-User is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 07:22 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
joelm3103's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2007
Location: -Trinidad- and Tobago, Caribbean.
Posts: 1,750
Default Re: need more pci-e slots!

Quote:
Originally Posted by Muffin Man View Post
yea, the slots next to your current ram is just for more ram.

i think the only way for you to get more pci-e slots would be to get another mobo.
Quote:
Originally Posted by Antec-User View Post
your rig needs a good blow-job first of all..

and yeah, you'd need a different mobo.
What they both said ^ and no, you cannot get a PCI-E slot for your laptop.
__________________
Need to update my siggy!
joelm3103 is offline  
Old 01-30-2010, 09:01 AM   #5 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
MindoverMaster's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: /home
Posts: 12,212
Send a message via MSN to MindoverMaster
Default Re: need more pci-e slots!

You can't add a PCI-e to your laptop.

But do please clean that out, man...
__________________
Neowin.net Steam Account
MindoverMaster is offline  
Old 02-03-2010, 07:56 AM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: need more pci-e slots!

*sniff* *sniff* i smell a prebuilt lol, most likely a Compaq presario.

Nah, no way to get more other then new mobo.
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Can I play Company of Heroes just by buying a graphics card? benjaminlee92 System Upgrades 10 09-07-2009 12:55 AM
All VOIP programs (skype, yahoo, msn) cause PC crash (only voice calls, chat ok)??? disksko Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 10 03-17-2009 09:17 AM
Monitor went dark Noelectro Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 20 09-08-2008 06:54 PM
Albatron unveils GeForce 8-series graphics cards for PCI slots Trotter Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 07-11-2008 08:29 PM
Do PCI express 2.0 GPU's run at 1/2 speed on reg. PCI slots? Bl@ckburn PC Gaming 3 04-26-2008 12:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:46 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.