Need help setting up microphone - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-25-2010, 07:36 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Need help setting up microphone

I have a set of Logitech heaphones that has a microphone. I can not get it to work right. It has a button on the headphones to turn the mic on and off. If I have it on, I can hear myself typing, clicking the mouse through the headphones and it is really fuzzy. While using it in BFBC2, I can not hear any voices, I can hear gun fire if I am close enough. The sound is totally screwed up.

Now if I turn the mic off, I can hear music fine on the desktop. I do not get any feedback. I have not tried it with the mic off in game, kind off defeating the purpose of using headphones. I have went into the sound card console and if I set it to headphones, I do not get any sound at all. I do get sound if I leave it on 5.1 speakers.

If I go to set up a microphone, the part where you speak the text, the green bar moves but it says it did not hear anything. I have tried hooking it up 2 different ways, directly into the sound card and also headphone plug into the speaker and the mic plug into the sound card.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 04-26-2010, 10:31 PM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Need help setting up microphone

What headset is this? It sounds as if this is a headset designed for a console of some kind. Most headsets come with 2x 1/8" connectors; one for the mic and one for the headphones. If your headset only uses 1 connector then it was likely designed for another device (not a computer headset).

Headsets can either use the 2x 1/8" connectors, or a USB connector for the computer. You should have bought a USB headset, as it's quite a bit easier to connect, and it doesn't require you fussing with the speaker settings or unplugging anything.

You will need a converter if you only have 1 plug on the headset, and it's likely going to cost you as much as the headset itself did. I recommend just buying a nice USB headset.
__________________

RichM499 is offline  
Old 04-26-2010, 10:42 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Need help setting up microphone

I am not sure of the model, it is a Logitech. Instead of the band sitting on top of your head, this one goes around the back of your neck. Here is what they look like: http://www.logitech.com/repository/246/jpg/1624.1.0.jpg

Sorry I didn't mention this earlier but it does have 2 3.5mm connectors, one for the headphone and the other for the mic. I have tried using the onboard sound as well and it does the same thing. And for some reason, it will not work at all when I plug them into the front audio ports.

It seems that the mic does work in game but I can not hear anybody else talk back to me. Don't know if that is a problem on my end or the game's end. Also I can not hear the game sounds right either. For example, in BFBC2, whenever you lose a base or take control of a base, the game will tell you but I can not hear it, can't hear people being spotted either. I can hear gun fire if I am close enough.

I just bought a usb desktop mic mainly for the fact that I don't like to wear headphones to much and so I don't have to unplug the speakers all the time.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 04-26-2010, 10:47 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2005
Location: Spaceballs Mega-Maid
Posts: 783
Send a message via AIM to RichM499 Send a message via Yahoo to RichM499
Default Re: Need help setting up microphone

Well it sounds as if there may be a problem with the headset. Perhaps a short? or just a faulty piece of equipment?

There is no way for me to tell without playing with them, but I'm glad you got a USB mic.

If you decide you want another headset in the future make sure to get a USB headset to avoid this sort of issue. I'm sorry I couldn't help more.


EDIT: The fact that you can't hear things actually might be related to what you said about 5.1 being the only setting that seems to work.

The headphones, as I'm sure you already know, are not 5.1. The rear and center channels are not going to be there, and Center is most often where the voice and general audio is going to come from in a 5.1 configuration.

Have you tried setting the speaker configuration to stereo, or quadraphonic?
RichM499 is offline  
Old 04-26-2010, 10:51 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: Need help setting up microphone

Once I receive the usb mic, I will let you know if it turns out any better. Thanks for the help.

I find that kind of odd too that it doesn't work on the headphones settings.

No I have not tried setting the speakers to stereo or quadraphonic. Never really thought about that but I have a feeling that is not the problem. I will try that sometime tomorrow.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Microphone directed to Speakers rhysfast Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-16-2009 01:41 AM
Microphone for Soundblaster Audio H.Krinkle Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 01-27-2009 03:54 PM
No Microphone Column in Volume Control Doberman Computer Audio and Multimedia 1 12-16-2008 04:28 PM
Problem with Webcam microphone shokanshi Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 0 04-07-2008 02:10 PM
Sound Card Tips EricB Computer Audio and Multimedia 2 02-18-2008 01:37 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:35 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.