Need help with a Seagate 1.5 TB Free agent External HD - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-12-2009, 08:11 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Default Need help with a Seagate 1.5 TB Free agent External HD

Basically, it worked on my PC and not my mac. It was only readable on my mac, but I could not write to it. I went to this forum:

"Free Agent" cannot be modified - FreeAgent Products - Seagate Community Forums

And used the erase function using OS X's disc utility, and now my mac and PC cannot read or write to it (sigh). I found something later on in the topic which hopefully will work, but I cannot even try it yet because my computers aren't even reading the drive. How do I restore the drive to it's original state.

One quick thing to note is that my PC cannot look at the files on the drive, nor can does it show up in my computer under drives, but under the 'safely remove hardware' button on my task-bar it shows up. Also, when I plug it into my mac it says that this drive cannot be read by this computer, meaning that it knows it's there, but it's just messed up, heh. Any help would be really appreciated.
__________________

echo13791 is offline  
Old 06-12-2009, 08:45 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default Re: Need help with a Seagate 1.5 TB Free agent External HD

Go to Start-Run and type in "compmgmt.msc"

Go to "disc management" and see if the volume shows up.

Dan
__________________

dipique is offline  
Old 06-12-2009, 08:51 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Default

Quote:
Originally Posted by dipique View Post
Go to Start-Run and type in "compmgmt.msc"

Go to "disc management" and see if the volume shows up.

Dan

On the left side all I see is:

Computer Management (Local)
System Tools
Storage
Removable Storage
Services and Applications

Obviously there are many other tabs within those, but I cannot find my Seagate within them. Am I not looking carefully? Where should I look? Thanks

Under disk defragmenter it only shows my C drive and one called Tengen, which is a different external HD, so I guess it's not showing up

wait, under disk management I see 2 drives that have no name.

They say:

Layout: Partition
Type: Basic
File System: One has FAT (top one) and other has nothing
Status: top one has Healthy (EISA Configuration) and bottom one has Healthy (Unknown Partition)
Capacity: top is 39 MB bottom is 1397.26 GB
% Free: top is 82 percent and bottom is 100 percent
Fault Tolerance: both are no
Overhead: Both are zero percent

Excuse the large amount of posting, heh. Thanks for the help
echo13791 is offline  
Old 06-12-2009, 08:59 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Need help with a Seagate 1.5 TB Free agent External HD

Please use the edit button instead of multi-posting, thank you.

Anyway, does the 1397GB one have a black bar on top of it? If so, then it's unformatted. Right click it > choose to format.

Be aware that if you format it as NTFS your Mac won't be able to recognize it unless you install a 3rd-party NTFS driver on your Mac; you'll have to format it as Fat32 for both Windows/Mac to read it without any extras.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:06 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Need help with a Seagate 1.5 TB Free agent External HD

There is no black bar over it in the disk management section of storage
echo13791 is offline  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:07 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Need help with a Seagate 1.5 TB Free agent External HD

Can you please take a screenshot of your Disk Management screen and post it?
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2009
Posts: 6
Default Re: Need help with a Seagate 1.5 TB Free agent External HD

http://i192.photobucket.com/albums/z...1/Photo225.jpg

excuse the quality; I took the picture with my mac laptop.
echo13791 is offline  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:19 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Need help with a Seagate 1.5 TB Free agent External HD

TO do a screenshot:

Select the window you want to take a screenshot of. Press PrntScrn button on your keyboard. Open up Paint or another image editing software (for this example we'll use Paint). Edit > Paste (or Ctrl+V). Save the image (File > Save as...) > Save as a JPG or PNG.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:28 PM   #9 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Posts: 326
Send a message via AIM to dipique
Default Re: Need help with a Seagate 1.5 TB Free agent External HD

You may have to assign a drive letter to it. To do that right click it and select drive letter (or something like that.. in Windows 7 it's "Change Drive Letter and Paths").

Dan
dipique is offline  
Old 06-12-2009, 09:28 PM   #10 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
hikaricloud's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Location: USA
Posts: 6,220
Default Re: Need help with a Seagate 1.5 TB Free agent External HD

It sounds like it was originally NTFS formatted, which would most likely be true seeing as most all external Seagate drives come that way.

As Carnage said, you have to format it as FAT32, otherwise you can't use it in OSX.
__________________

__________________
R.I.P. Ronald C. "Bucky" Buck
3/13/1949 - 11/30/2010
Poizen22 - in all honesty id prefetr my pics get passed around then send perform some homo erotic sexual deed.
thirdshiftdj - what on earth are you trying to say???
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM or IM.
If I helped you out, or what I just said rocked you like a hurricane, hit the little thingie over there.
<-------------------------------
hikaricloud is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
List of Free & Open Source Software Downloads þÄ®âÐÖx Microsoft Windows and Software 552 08-10-2009 02:24 PM
Fonts Snake91839 Internet Software and Browsers 5 05-30-2007 06:19 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.