Need help with power supply problem and more.... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-01-2006, 06:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default Need help with power supply problem and more....

Hi everyone, I’m new to the forum and I have come here for some help. My setup is: ( all brand new )

Gigabyte 965P-DQ6 socket 775
Core 2 Duo E6700
OCZ Titanium 2048 PC6400 DDR2 800Mhz w/ EPP DC
EVGA Geforce 7300 GT 512 PCIe
Ultra 550w X2 power supply
Seagate 320gb serial ATA HD
PLEXTOR PX-755SA 16x STAT internal DVD burner


Everything is installed in the tower and I have connected all the power cables to the motherboard and drives. The problem I’m having is when I boot the computer. The CPU fan kicks on then shuts off a second latter followed by continuous short beeps for three to four second then the system tries to reboot its self again.
The motherboard manual states that this error beep indicates a power supply problem. I have power going to the mobo via the 24 pin connector, the 4 pin 12v connector and the PCIe 12v power connector. I tried using the 8 ping 12v connector and I still get the same problem, but if I don’t use that 12v connector at all and boot the system the CPU fan kicks on, shuts off, and kicks back on again and this time it stays with no error beeps. No output on the screen as well.
__________________

Protocol255 is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 08:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Posts: 1,946
Default

My guess is your Ultra psu is no good or not supplying enough power...make sure all the connections are ok, no loose or bent pins, or stressed cables...you can carefully try wiggling the cables/connections as its booting to see if that makes a difference...
__________________

__________________
LIAN LI PC-7B PLUS II
OCZ MODSTREAM 520W
P4 3.2
2GB KINGSTON
EVGA 6800GS PCI-E
ASUS P5GD1
WD CAVIAR X2
LG DVD BURNER X2
vaderpro is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 10:27 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Just tryed a new psu and no luck. I powered up with no drives connected and no expansion cards installed. Just the cpu/fan and ram. I should see some kind of output on the monitor, but I don't get anything.

Also should I be using the ATX_12v 4 or 8 pin connector?
Protocol255 is offline  
Old 12-01-2006, 11:57 PM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

umm, just a question, but did you ever set your cmos jumper from clear to normal?
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 12-02-2006, 12:35 AM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 3
Default

Jumper is off the mobo by default. I also made sure that the psu is set a 115v.
Protocol255 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.