Need help, PC temps... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-25-2008, 08:41 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 69
Default Need help, PC temps...

In my new PC if i enable: System fan 1 or system fan 2 or power fan fail warning i set off a warning sound, and i don't know why. can somebody help me?
Here are my bios info.: Award software, pc helth status to set fans.
Front, back,side, cpu and graph card fans are working.
My cpu is Intel Q6600, with Artic cooling freezer pro and Artic silver 5.

Using "Core Temp." sofware, i have this idle readins.
Core 0 = 42c
Core 1 = 42c
Core 2 = 35c
Core 3 = 38c.

With "Real temp" sofware, same conditions i get this.
Core 0 = 37c
Core 1 = 37c
Core 2 = 30c
Core 3 = 33c
__________________

galic is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 01:00 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Need help, PC temps...

Do you have any fans plugged into either of those 2 ports on the motherboard? Should be labeled "sys_fan1" "sys_fan2" and "pwr_fan" or something along those lines. They'll all be 3 pin connectors on the motherboard, as well. If nothing is plugged into them, then yes it's going say they failed because it's not supplying power to anything (assumes its dead).

What does your BIOS say your temps are? Go by whichever program is closest to your BIOS. And I believe those temps are fairly normal for a Q6600.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 02:45 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 69
Default Re: Need help, PC temps...

I'm pretty sure that they are pluged at the right places, but i'll re-check tonight. As bios temp display goes, i haven't see any temps there, i'll recheck again. Thanks.
galic is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 07:29 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Need help, PC temps...

Good luck, and no problem.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 08:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 69
Default Re: Need help, PC temps...

OK, my fans are not connected to the mobo., they have molex pluges, so they are connected to the PS. They are ; the front, side and back. The CPU fan looks like it is controlled by the mobo. as he is running idle between 644-646 rpm's.
galic is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 08:09 PM   #6 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Need help, PC temps...

Well there's yoru answer then =). It's failing the power/system fan tests and giving you that alert because the fans aren't in the motherboard direct, they're in the molex plugs from the PSU.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 08:57 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 69
Default Re: Need help, PC temps...

Yes, you are right. It's there a way to connect them to the mobo? Would that do any good?
galic is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 09:05 PM   #8 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Need help, PC temps...

The only real advantage would be you would be able to control the fan speed via software (they're running at 100% right now, while plugged directly into the PSU).

There are adapters you can get, but it'd just add more clutter to the inside of your system. My case fans in my Antec 900 are like yours, they're hooked directly to the PSU. Doesn't bother me any that they're not connected directly the the mobo.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 09:15 PM   #9 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: New Jersey, USA
Posts: 69
Default Re: Need help, PC temps...

Good, i'l live it like that. My case is a Xion II. Big, nice to look at and cheap.
Thanks for your time.
galic is offline  
Old 06-25-2008, 09:17 PM   #10 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Need help, PC temps...

No problem, glad I could help.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Q6600 Temps DesertWolf01 Overclocking and Modding 32 03-12-2008 05:24 PM
the different temps i get. braz Overclocking and Modding 8 02-28-2008 01:14 PM
Temps for Q6700 vs. QX6850 TheMaestro New Systems | Building and Buying 29 11-05-2007 10:33 AM
E6400 temps Syphanx Overclocking and Modding 2 11-03-2007 10:13 PM
Mobo temps? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-21-2007 10:10 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:00 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.