Need help with new rig. - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2009, 07:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Default Need help with new rig.

Ok guys, ive finished putting together my new rig. Heres my problem; When i plug in the PSU and press the power button, the green light on the Mobo is on indicating its on. Heres the puzzling part, the case fans an the CPU fan does not spin. Im pretty confident in the fact ive connected all the case fans and i know for sure ive connected the wire from the cpu fan to the CPU fan slot on the mobo. help meee
__________________

mdavey316 is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 07:09 PM   #2 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Need help with new rig.

Does the HDD spin or any other lights come on or the optical drive make a noise?
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 07:22 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Default

all the lights flash then go off. ??? im thinking its a problem with the Asus Q connector?? maybe short circuit??? have no idea.

and optical drive does not make noise, and does actually not even come out of the drive. the CPU fan tries to start to spin then just stops.??
mdavey316 is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 07:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Need help with new rig.

Your mobo could be shorting out on one of the metal stand-off's.
Slaymate is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 07:27 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: May 2009
Posts: 13
Default Re: Need help with new rig.

that makes sense. Would the green light on the mobo still be on tho? and how would i correct this shortage??
mdavey316 is offline  
Old 05-12-2009, 08:20 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Need help with new rig.

Yes the light could be on. You need to make sure all the stand-offs are lining up with the holes in the mobo. You can set the system up on a non-conductive surface (place the mobo on the mobo box) and see if it powers up. if it does then you probably have a stand-off screwed in where theres no mobo hole.
__________________

Slaymate is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
rebuilding current rig - server/gaming rig.. help? anime_dude07 New Systems | Building and Buying 0 03-30-2009 11:12 AM
Building a new rig Sonofjohn New Systems | Building and Buying 12 01-19-2009 01:09 AM
Quad GPU motherboard recommendations for folding rig jfenwick New Systems | Building and Buying 9 01-18-2009 08:28 PM
Striker II Extreme 790i, new rig problem. System slow? manowar Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 07-09-2008 05:15 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.