Need help with new Proc - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 02-14-2009, 04:05 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Default Need help with new Proc

Here are the specs for my laptop to begin with:

Toshiba Satellite M115-S1061
Intel Celeron M 420 1.6ghz Processor
2gigs Kingston Hyper X PC2-4200 Ram
Windows Vista Ultimate

Here is my problem, the computer used to have XP on it and before I upgraded to Vista Ultimate, I put a new processor in it. The processor I put into the laptop is the Intel T2050 Core Duo. Same socket, same pins, I cross referenced this processor in so many ways to be sure it would work. When I put the processor in with windows xp on the machine it ran great, both cores showed up and it ran at its max speed all the time. When I upgraded to Vista Ultimate I had to switch back to the Celeron M because Vista would not boot normally. It would get as far as the scrolling green bar at the bottom and then go to a black screen and not move. But here is the weird part, with the Core Duo in it and Vista installed, I can boot into safe mode just fine. So why does it not boot into normal windows with the T2050? I did some more research and tried running the boot trace and that did not work at all. I'm at a loss for words, and I'm running out of ideas. Anyone got anything I can try? Any help would be great.

jcofske111 is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 04:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Luke's Avatar
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: Need help with new Proc

Did you try re-installing vista?

3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 02-14-2009, 04:31 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Feb 2009
Posts: 2
Default Re: Need help with new Proc

Yes. This is a FRESH install of Vista Ultimate SP1. Like I said, it boots into safe mode with the T2050, and it completely boots up normal with the Celeron M, but no normal boot with the T2050. I'm stunned. Can't figure it out.
jcofske111 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Proc upgrade in Asus G1S B1 Alexinator Laptops and Notebooks 2 12-24-2008 05:16 PM
WTB: Motherboard for E6420 Proc Indobos Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 2 05-19-2008 06:46 PM
250@ mobo and proc taintedplay New Systems | Building and Buying 3 12-09-2007 07:30 PM
i think my proc is dying Poizen22 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-28-2007 05:31 PM
New proc, need to know if my heatsink/HSF is good enough. djg320 Overclocking and Modding 4 05-28-2007 09:33 PM

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:08 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.