Need help, New Computer wont boot - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-26-2006, 08:45 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2
Default Need help, New Computer wont boot

Hi, I just put together my computer and it won't boot. It is a E6300 the mobo is p4m800pro. It turns on ( all the fans and lights are on) but the monitor isn't getting any signal/ My video card seems fine, its all connected. Something i think might be the problem is that the mobo has 24 pin connecter but my PSU is only 20 pin. Please, i need help.

kipz is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 08:49 PM   #2 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 202

sorry man .. i have no idea !!
i dont know why i posted a reply in the first place

plz god .. if u cant make me thin ..
make all my friends very fat !
JinkX is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 09:02 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
CrazeD's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD

You do not need the extra 4 pins. They are simply for stability.

Make sure you have the ATX12V connector plugged in. This is a small 4-pin connector that plugs in somewhere around the CPU, or in the middle of the motherboard usually. It will have two yellow wires, and two black wires.

Other than that, make sure you have the power cord plugged into your video card if it requires it. Look for a place to plug in a cord on the back of your card, or read the manual if you are un-sure.

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 09-26-2006, 09:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 2

The ATX 12V is plugged in, my video card does not require a power cord. I was looking for anything else that might be a problem, I noticed that i did not plug the cpu fan in the cpu fan plug just into the system fan plug. Could that be a problem? With my fan i had to plug it in that way since the cpu fan plug on the mobo is 4 pins and the plug on the fan is only 3 pin.
Edit: I just noticed that i could plug my fan in, there is just 1 pin sticking out. Still not working, but i can hear it making a "chirping" noise.
kipz is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:39 PM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.