Need help!!Laptop directly shuting down when formating,maybe bios problem... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-11-2006, 11:47 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Exclamation Need help!!Laptop directly shuting down when formating,maybe bios problem...

Him
I recently tried to format my laptop...when it started formatting, it reached around 23% and directly turned off by itslelf!!I thought it was a problem with the battery, but I checked that the power was plugged...I tried several times...it did not reach the formating hard disk phase!!It turned off while it was preparing to start setup...

I sent it to the company where I bought it...they said it needed a bios upgrade...they charged 30$ (although it is still under warranty, but they said the warranty does not support software problems...only hardware...) They upgraded the bios, as they said, and they installed windows...

I tried to format again...but the same problem occured!!! I went to the fujitsu-siemens website and downloaded the latest bios version...copied it to a CD...followed instructions...it said Bios upgraded successfuly or something...but when I rebooted...it said CMOS Checksum Bad, Press F2 to run SETUP...

Anyone can help me with this???

Thanx...
__________________

__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 11:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

may have fried it dude, can u get into the bios or does it just sit there now, could've actually been a hard drive problem.
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 11:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

no...I can enter bios...I thought it was a hard drive problem too...but the company said it only needed upgrading the bios...

Is there anythign I can do to fix it???

thanx again...
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 11:57 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

from my experience, if you have one available try swapping out the hard drive, theres probably a bad sector/cluster on the drive, does it go thru if you do a quick format?(assuming its xp) if i have a bad hard drive it will stop formatting or shut off the computer if it can't finish the format.
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 12:02 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

Its not reaching the point where I chose to quick format or not!Its simply shutting down by itself...but I cant access it anymore!I only get the American Megatrends screen, CMOS checksum bad, press F2 for setup!!
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 12:05 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

if you press F2 for setup, check your date and time. make sure all settings are correct, you say you can get into bios but it wont go past that splash screen?
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 12:13 PM   #7 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

ok...i changed the date and time and I no longer get the splash screen....but I have the same problem...im not even reaching the phase where it ask you to quick format or not...!!
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 12:17 PM   #8 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

is the disc branded with your laptop or is it an OEM disc?
__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 12:19 PM   #9 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2005
Posts: 507
Default

the disk is branded with the laptop...(recovery disk)
__________________

3.4GHz i5 3570K / Asus P8Z77-V LE / 8 GB RAM / 120 GB SSD / 3 TB HD / 2 TB NAS
AMD Radeon HD 6850 1GB / Cooler Master CM 690 II Advanced / 32" Samsung LCD
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
13" MacBook Air (mid-2012) / 2.0 GHz Core i7 / 256 GB SSD / 8 GB RAM
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Toshiba Satellite M645 / Intel Core i3 2.53GHz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
-----------------------------------------------------------------------
Sony VAIO VGN-CS320J / Intel Core 2 Duo 2.1Ghz / 4 GB RAM / Win 7 Ultimate X64
Rawan AbuSalman is offline  
Old 07-11-2006, 12:29 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2003
Posts: 1,084
Send a message via Yahoo to IBMan
Default

ok, do you have any windows 98 boot disks, windows 2000 disks or any other windows xp discs?
__________________

__________________
Server:
AMD Athlon 4000+ @ 2.4 GHz
4096 MB RAM
40 GB HDD
Dual Mirrored 500 GB HDDs
DVD-ROM Drive
Windows Server 2003 x64 R2 SP2
IBMan is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:33 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.