Need help hooking up 32"lcd tv to my laptop - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-14-2008, 06:15 PM   #1 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Need help hooking up 32"lcd tv to my laptop

the laptop is a dell inspiron 1501, it has the ati mobility radeon x1400pro graphics card.

the tv is a magnavox 32"lcd tv(not the one im selling)

all this is actually my gf's but im trying to hook it up for her.

i dont know how to get the display on the tv? but i do know how to get the display on a 19" acer ws monitor.

i tried using the s video cable that i got with my gpu but that didnt work.

any clues anyone????
thanks
__________________

__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 02-14-2008, 11:27 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Re: Need help hooking up 32"lcd tv to my laptop

Have you read the manual for the TV.
Also have you tried to right click on the desktop and go to settings and try to set your computer up for dual display?
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 01:36 AM   #3 (permalink)
krazy Techie
 
krazyq's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 8,059
Default Re: Need help hooking up 32"lcd tv to my laptop

Quote:
Originally Posted by sPlAtOiD View Post
Have you read the manual for the TV.
Also have you tried to right click on the desktop and go to settings and try to set your computer up for dual display?
EDIT:
wrong post in wrong thread.


i did look at the manual and switced it to pc mode but that didnt change anything...
its really frustrating me now cos she wants to play her games on that tv....
__________________
Intel Core i5-4670K
ASRock Z97 Anniversary
8 GB G.SKILL Ripjaws
MSI GTX 1070 Gaming X
Sandisk Ultra II 960GB + Samsung 850 EVO 500GB + 2TB + 1TB WD Black
Samsung Note 8
2TB White PS4 Pro, PS3, Switch & New 3DS XL
65" LG OLED C7P
BenQ 27" XL2720Z
krazyq is offline  
Old 02-15-2008, 07:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 1,585
Default Re: Need help hooking up 32"lcd tv to my laptop

with my tv and it's myriad connections, whatever I connect to it, I have to make sure to switch to the source...
for example, I could have a component, svga, av, svideo hooked up and playing...but have to make sure I pick the right source....I think mine can do a 9 screen display or something
atomic tofu is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Spilled Soda on Laptop chickfilafan Laptops and Notebooks 5 11-16-2007 01:01 PM
XP PC networked with Vista laptop mnelson07 Computer Networking and Internet Hardware 9 08-06-2007 06:57 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:35 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.