Need help with hard drive, wife going to kill me :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Closed Thread
Thread Tools Display Modes
Old 09-09-2006, 08:56 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 1
Default Need help with hard drive, wife going to kill me :(

About 2 weeks ago i bought a 300gb seagate hard drive. After the instal and format everything looked ok except all the writing on that drive was blue, but i didnt think much of it. Yesterday i did some much needed up-gradeing (p4 celeron to dual core 939) but now i cannot access the drive and windows has split it in half.

My current system is as follows,

amd 939 dual core 3800
asus a8s-x mobo
1.5 gb ram
6600 gt pci-e
40 gb ide maxtor (has xp prof and sp2)
80 gb sata maxtor
300 gb sata seagate

computer management displays my seagate haveing 1 mbr partition of 127gb and 151gb unallocated.

If i try to explore or open the drive a pop up box just opens up and asks me to format the drive.

Is there any way to at least retrieve the files from the drive or am i screwed? i have photos and music ect and the wife will not be very pleased if i have lost them

any help would be very grateful, ty in advance

General Caesar is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 09:56 AM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
Nitestick's Avatar
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473

this is called the "137gb barrier", i think the data may be recoverable as long as you haven't tried putting too many things on it. you need to install service pack 2 for a start

Visit my website -
"Guitar is cool. If you donít think the guitar is cool, then youíre stupid. And I will fight you! " - Brendon Small
I'm sorry but I do not accept support requests via IM, email, or personal messages
You can contact me for Forum related issues via PM only.

Nitestick is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 10:00 AM   #3 (permalink)
True Techie
Join Date: Aug 2006
Posts: 107

You should have made the up grade before installing the new hdd, the hdd gets confused with the new CPU. Hopefully someone here can explain this, I have experienced this myself, and have heard similar things from others when they switched out a motherboard.

As for the 127GB, depending on you OS and which SP you have it may not recognize anything over 137GB.
dcc is offline  
Old 09-09-2006, 12:20 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
MrCoffee's Avatar
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858

you many need to take ownership of the files
Intel core I7 920
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off

Our Communities

Our communities encompass many different hobbies and interests, but each one is built on friendly, intelligent membership.

» More about our Communities

Automotive Communities

Our Automotive communities encompass many different makes and models. From U.S. domestics to European Saloons.

» More about our Automotive Communities

Marine Communities

Our Marine websites focus on Cruising and Sailing Vessels, including forums and the largest cruising Wiki project on the web today.

» More about our Marine Communities

Copyright 2002-2015 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:59 AM.

Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2016, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.