need help getting very old computer going - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-22-2008, 11:23 PM   #11 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 717
Default Re: need help getting very old computer going

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorsoft03 View Post
6.0? Hmm....we might be dealing with something even older then, early 90s. You might even have win 3.x on there, it's tough to say.

Do you have a brand name (HP, packard bell, etc.) on there? Sometimes you can find a model # on the front or a sticker on the back or bottom of the case.

Do you have a cd-rom or just a floppy? And how big is your hd? You can type "DIR" at the dos prompt and it will display the files and give the hd size in bytes at the bottom.
it just has a flopy. it's got 42 files on the HD and has 24440832 bytes free. i'll turn it off and have a look around the case and see if i can find a brand name or a model but on the top of it it sas RAS dial-in server.

what's the chances of it been just a server.
__________________

computer newbie is offline  
Old 11-22-2008, 11:30 PM   #12 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 717
Default Re: need help getting very old computer going

couldent find much. there is how ever 2 stickers on the bottem of it one with parts of the computer and how many each component's are in it.
__________________

computer newbie is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 12:42 AM   #13 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: need help getting very old computer going

HD is only 2.4 gb, floppy only. Okay, that helps somewhat.

I think you're right that it might just have been a server. In any case, software wise, it's not doing so well. You should probably just wipe the hd and install Freedos to get it useable. Then select a gui OS, like Linux or something.

FREEDOS Ripcord BootDisk
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 12:59 AM   #14 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 717
Default Re: need help getting very old computer going

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorsoft03 View Post
HD is only 2.4 gb, floppy only. Okay, that helps somewhat.

I think you're right that it might just have been a server. In any case, software wise, it's not doing so well. You should probably just wipe the hd and install Freedos to get it useable. Then select a gui OS, like Linux or something.

FREEDOS Ripcord BootDisk
so that freedos will wipe the hard drive. and than i install an OS on it right
computer newbie is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 01:04 AM   #15 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 717
Default Re: need help getting very old computer going

if it help's it has a conetion thing on the back of it to use AUTO CAD. so maybe it is a actul computer but it might be able to double as a server. but i think that is very doubtfull
computer newbie is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 01:17 AM   #16 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 717
Default Re: need help getting very old computer going

it's an actul computer i think, it's just that the HD is soo small. i just google that RAS dial in server and it sound's like that's there so you can accese other network's

Remote Access Server (RAS) for Dialing-In

my knowldge is limeted.
computer newbie is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 01:22 AM   #17 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: need help getting very old computer going

Sounds like an old *** dial in server. It can be used as a standard pc, though, just need an OS.

FreeDOS will wipe everything and let you use DOS. But you can find a linux distro if you like. It doesn't sound like you have an optical drive in there so it may be tricky getting a non-DOS OS on there. Do you have a spare? Pop the case open and check if it uses IDE connections. It probably does. Then you should be able to pop in a spare cd-rom and that'll make life easier.

My suggestions are either DSL (Darn Small Linux) or IBM OS/2.
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 01:30 AM   #18 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 717
Default Re: need help getting very old computer going

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorsoft03 View Post
Sounds like an old *** dial in server. It can be used as a standard pc, though, just need an OS.

FreeDOS will wipe everything and let you use DOS. But you can find a linux distro if you like. It doesn't sound like you have an optical drive in there so it may be tricky getting a non-DOS OS on there. Do you have a spare? Pop the case open and check if it uses IDE connections. It probably does. Then you should be able to pop in a spare cd-rom and that'll make life easier.

My suggestions are either DSL (Darn Small Linux) or IBM OS/2.
i think it dose use IDE and no i have no spare cd-drive's in my house. it look's like i might have do it the hard way. what is involved???
computer newbie is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 01:54 AM   #19 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Jorsoft's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2004
Location: Oakdale, MN
Posts: 4,581
Default Re: need help getting very old computer going

This would be easier if you had USB.....

Without a spare cd-rom you'll have to use floppies. I will PM you shortly...
__________________
Jorsoft is offline  
Old 11-23-2008, 02:05 AM   #20 (permalink)
Banned
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: australia
Posts: 717
Default Re: need help getting very old computer going

Quote:
Originally Posted by jorsoft03 View Post
This would be easier if you had USB.....

Without a spare cd-rom you'll have to use floppies. I will PM you shortly...
ok cool. what do you mean by This would be easier if you had USB??.
__________________

computer newbie is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Help with a gaming computer Consequences New Systems | Building and Buying 20 07-22-2008 03:04 AM
Need Video Card, Case, Mouse and Keyboard Suggestions r3vo1ution1991 New Systems | Building and Buying 10 07-06-2008 08:47 PM
Computer won't Load narmerguy Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 01-08-2008 08:19 AM
A Computer Building Guide.....by Elbatrop1 Elbatrop1 System Upgrades 31 04-07-2007 08:26 PM
New Computer. Same Issues Duality Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 6 04-01-2007 10:54 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.