Need Help with Disk Drive - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-16-2006, 12:51 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to sakot_tijir
Exclamation Need Help with Disk Drive

Hey Guys,

I'm haivng a spot of trouble. On this computer I was recently given, I had to reset the BIOS and everything and I did that. But, I wanted to install the XP Restore Cds into the computer to make it more up to date (currently its XP Professional but has too many faults with it and I wanted to put it to Home edition so thats its more user friendly for me). But when I insert the cds into the drives I get nothing. The computer skips over the disks and goes to the XP start up screen and then into windows. SO, thinking it was a software problem I went to the device manager and found the disk drive which is Maxtor something or other. And it says that its working fine. But do you know when you go into My Computer and you can see the types of drives you have. On the computer I am on now, it has an A, a C, a D, and an E, plus an F because my travel drive is in the computer's USB Port. But on the other computer all there is is an A and a C. How can I fix this? This computer is REALLY jacked up software-wise and I just want to install the restore cds so I can clean it up but I can't becuase the computer seems to have not a working drive. Help! All help is appreciated, thank you.

~Sako~
__________________

sakot_tijir is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 01:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

sounds like the CD rom is either bad or connected improperly.Possibly a bad cable or mobo port.
__________________

__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 03:09 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to sakot_tijir
Default

well if its not connected properly how can I connect it proplery? Anyone know? anyone?
sakot_tijir is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 03:52 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Posts: 1,446
Send a message via AIM to Alex81388
Default

When the computer starts up, hit DEL, or whatever key you need to get into the BIOS/SETUP with.

Once in there, navigate to something along the lines of BOOT PRIORITY. Make sure that your CDroms, or maybe removable disks, are set to boot BEFORE youre hard disks or HDD's.

Also, when you turn on the computer and it goes to windows do you see the CDROM's lights breifly go on?
__________________
Sig removed due to foul language. Please read the rules regarding the allowable content of sigs before reposting your COMPLIANT sig.
~Trotter
4/21/06
Alex81388 is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 03:55 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to sakot_tijir
Default

yeah, the light briefly goes on. But other than that, it doesn't read and I can't get into the disks manually like you normally would be able to by clicking the D drive then hitting open or explore on the disk. It doesn't show any of that.
sakot_tijir is offline  
Old 02-16-2006, 04:52 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 7
Send a message via Yahoo to sakot_tijir
Default

okay...guys, I got the xp disks in. But now I'm hit with a new problem. At the end of the XP's ghost program it tells you to basically reboot. This should then run the set up where you creat accounts, check for online status and what not. But instead of doing that, the computer restarts and then proceeds to take me to a screen where i'm listed with options like run in safe mode or run in normal mode, etc. I click normal, safe, etc etc. I basically tried all of them, nothing worked, kept restarting. Then I noticed this happening in the black screen that runs the boot up program. It says the following things:

PXE-E61 : Media test failure, check cable.
PXE-MOF : Exiting Intel PXE ROM
Boot Failure: System Halted.

How do I get rid of this now to actually install XP?????

Also, if this is any help, the heading that the stuff above is under is PXE-2.1 Build (083). The hard disk drive for the computer is a Maxtor 6Y120L0 if that matters. There is also another drive, something like a Plextor something or other, its for burning media I think. Need help!
__________________

sakot_tijir is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:53 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.