Need help converting to SATA - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-13-2008, 04:46 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 21
Default Need help converting to SATA

I was discussing some of the whereabouts in another thread but I'm still not postive on how many sata connectors I need from the power supply and from the motherboard. I was wondering if anyone could help make sure I have enough for each or rather help me understand the setup better.

I was hoping to primarily aim towards using sata, and hoping to have maybe 1-2 ide incase I need to use an older drive.

MOBO: Newegg.com - ASUS M2N-SLI AM2 NVIDIA nForce 560 SLI MCP ATX AMD Motherboard - AMD Motherboards
PSU: Newegg.com - Thermaltake Purepower W0100RU ATX 12V 2.0 500W Power Supply 115/ 230 V UL, CUL, TUV, FCC, and CB certification - Power Supplies
I am getting a sata HHD and DVD burner that will need to be hooked up.

Thanks for any help.
Edit: think I put this in wrong posting area by accident, sorry.
__________________

HoB10 is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 04:55 PM   #2 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Need help converting to SATA

You'll need 1 sata port on your motherboard/1 sata power plug on your PSU per SATA device.

The mobo you picked out has: 4 SATA data connectors.
The PSU you picked out has: 4 SATA power connectors.
__________________

__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 05:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Need help converting to SATA

It's just like IDE except the connectors are different
1 data cable from motherboard and 1 power cable from the PSU.
__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 05:38 PM   #4 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 21
Default Re: Need help converting to SATA

Thank you both for the help.
HoB10 is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 06:42 PM   #5 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,506
Default Re: Need help converting to SATA

No problem.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-13-2008, 06:49 PM   #6 (permalink)
Retired.
 
peterhuang913's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Location: Los Angeles, California
Posts: 8,076
Send a message via AIM to peterhuang913
Default Re: Need help converting to SATA

No problem
__________________

__________________


My computer uses 1.5A-load, .8A-idle, .65A-standby, .05A-turned off on 125V.
"The spaces between your fingers were created so that another's could fill them in."
Quote:
Originally Posted by Norcent View Post
I need to stop using the internet.
peterhuang913 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
are all the SATA cables compatible with first generation SATA motherboards rookie1010 System Upgrades 6 04-06-2008 11:15 PM
sata taintedplay New Systems | Building and Buying 3 10-21-2007 07:19 PM
SATA 2 Question juh-may-uh-kun mon System Upgrades 0 10-07-2007 11:31 PM
SATA HDD disappeared goo_lu Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 9 08-20-2007 06:28 PM
Using SATA dwu182 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 08-20-2007 01:22 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.