need help with cd drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2008, 09:42 AM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default need help with cd drives

I thought I made a topic about this a while back but I can not find it. If it still exists, this can be merged into that one.

Anyways, my dad has a Dell 2400 desktop that has 2 cd drives and 2 hard drives(don't know if the hard drives matter). A while back one of the drives started opening and closing constantly by itself. It gets very annoying. Since he doesn't use them all the time, I just unplugged them. He needed to use them so I plugged them back in but now they don't work. They worked before I unplugged them. Was that a mistake leaving them unplugged for a while? Is that a no no?

They still open and close but Windows does not recognize them and every time he turns the computer on, he has to hit f1. It says drive 0 and drive 1 not found. I tried another drive that I had laying around and it still didn't work unless that one is messed up. I don't think it is the drives since both of them don't work. I think it has to do with the jumpers. I have put them in different slots and still no luck. What slots do they need to be on? Does having two hard drives make a difference? I hate to buy new drives if these are still good.
__________________

__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 11:31 AM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: need help with cd drives

Not sure of the setup, but this is what i would recommend you setting up the system as.

Put both of the hard drives on the primary controller (probably blue). Put the one with your OS on the end of the chain and make sure the jumper is set to master. Place the other drive in the middle and set that jumper to slave.

Next place both CD drives on their own controller (slave). Next go into the bios screen and ensure that the bios recognizes all of the drives (HD and CD). You may need to allow the bios to auto detect your CD drives. You should be able to click 'auto select' or something similar and then your CD drive should appear with the name like Samsung XXXXX. If it still doesn't recognize the CD drives your IDE cable may be bad, the controller on the MB may be bad, or you may just need to install the proper drivers.

See if that helps.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 01:24 PM   #3 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: need help with cd drives

Have you bothered to update the firmware on them since you ought the PC?
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 04:22 PM   #4 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: need help with cd drives

No I don't think I have. How could I do that now since they are not showing up anywhere? I can't find the drivers for it either.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 09-09-2008, 09:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: need help with cd drives

Do you have any information about the system in question? Like the original build order or packing slip or anything? Something that we can go off of to try and find teh make and model of the drivers? If not you might be stuck just buying new ones.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 11:19 AM   #6 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: need help with cd drives

One of the drives is a Samsung CD-Master 48E Model SC-148 and the other is a Samsung Model SW-252. I have looked on Dell's website and looked for the drivers for this machine and could not find it. I also went to Samsung's website and could not find them unless I am blind.

I am thinking it has to do with the jumpers.

Lexluthar, what do you mean primary controller?

Thanks for the help.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 01:59 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: need help with cd drives

Well since you said you have jumpers, i was assuming the drives are all IDE, because SATA does not have jumpers.

There are two controllers on the motherboard, one is the primary and the other is secondary. The primary is usually blue.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 04:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
memory's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2008
Location: Southern Indiana
Posts: 991
Default Re: need help with cd drives

Could I affect the Windows installation or the data on the hard drives by messing with the jumpers? Just want to make sure.
__________________
Antec 1200
Intel Core i7 920@2.7ghz
Gigabyte X58A-UD3R
Noctua NH-D14
ATI Radeon HD5870
Corsair 6gb DDR3 1600
Corsair 850HX PSU
OCZ Vertex 2 120gb SSD
WD Caviar Black WD5001AALS 500gb
Windows 7 Pro 64bit


I know someone who pressed yes...
His home and family Combusted Spontaneously...
memory is offline  
Old 09-10-2008, 04:38 PM   #9 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: need help with cd drives

No. But if you have the jumpers incorrect the system will not boot.
__________________

__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Serious Problem Concerning CD/DVD Drives digital_ninja2k Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 05-05-2008 01:42 AM
Ultra ATA/133 card not showing Optical drives in BIOS Rastafari Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 02-02-2008 12:46 PM
BIOS stopped detecting hard drives YoBagonGo Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 4 09-04-2007 11:42 PM
Two 500Gb Hard Drives Denise_M Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 3 04-16-2007 03:09 PM
New Western Digital Drives For AV Products maroon1 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 0 04-09-2007 02:14 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:10 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.