Need Help With Booting Problem - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-08-2005, 08:27 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Default Need Help With Booting Problem

Booting Problem

Hope some one can HELP
When I turn on my computer ( power button) will start to boot up Power Supply fan is working CPU fan is working. Computer will post then stop nothing on the screen monitor off. I have to push the reset button then it will boot to windows. This dose not happen every time. Some times it will boot just fine. Can any one help solve this. My computer is.
Motherboard: Chaintech 7NJL6 nVidia Socket A ATX
OS Name Microsoft Windows XP Home Edition
Version 5.1.2600 Service Pack 2 Build 2600
OS Manufacturer Microsoft Corporation
System Manufacturer NVIDIA
System Model AWRDACPI
System Type X86-based PC
Processor x86 Family 6 Model 10 Stepping 0 AuthenticAMD ~2157 Mhz
BIOS Version/Date Phoenix Technologies, LTD 6.00 PG, 8/4/2004
SMBIOS Version 2.2
Windows Directory C:\WINDOWS
System Directory C:\WINDOWS\system32
Boot Device \Device\HarddiskVolume1
Locale United States
Hardware Abstraction Layer Version = "5.1.2600.2180 (xpsp_sp2_rtm.040803-2158)"
User Name FAMLYROOM\Dave
Time Zone Eastern Standard Time
Total Physical Memory 1,024.00 MB
Available Physical Memory 700.88 MB
Total Virtual Memory 2.00 GB
Available Virtual Memory 1.96 GB
Page File Space 2.40 GB
Page File C:\pagefile.sys
__________________

jd6158 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 08:53 PM   #2 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'm thinking it could either be a bad motherboard or power supply. I don't think it's a software problem, as you say it does boot to Windows fine after a reset
__________________

__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 09:14 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Default

This is a new System Motherboars and PS are all new. I do know that even new can be bad. I have switch PS and that didnt help.

JD
jd6158 is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 09:16 PM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

what's the PS?
anyway, a lot of people here don't like Chaintech motherboards. they've been known to have problems
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 09:53 PM   #5 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

seems more likely to be a motherboard issue. i don't have much to back that up i just have a feeling :P. its just that if it were the psu it would probably be a little more consistent. could be a failing hdd. does your computer make any strange noises that it didn't before?
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 09:56 PM   #6 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I doubt it would be the hard drive, as that would cause a BSOD or something
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 09:58 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

that is true. i was just speculating. oh well i suppose this guy is just going to have to go with the usual process of elimination because the symptoms really aren't clear enough.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 11-08-2005, 11:54 PM   #8 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
Apokalipse's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2003
Location: Melbourne, Australia
Posts: 14,559
Default

I'm kinda tempted to point the finger at the motherboard. although it could be RAM aswell, but I think it's the motherboard most likely
__________________
Apokalipse is offline  
Old 11-09-2005, 06:39 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 4
Default Booting Problem

Would this be part of the problem? After the computer boots up once in a while it will freeze up. I will get an error message that it was caused by a driver. It dose not identified the driver but I think it is the driver for ATI Radeon 9550 video card.
JD
__________________

jd6158 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:20 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.