need help asap if possible... - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-01-2007, 11:19 PM   #1 (permalink)
True Techie
 
anime_dude07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to anime_dude07
Exclamation need help asap if possible...

okay, so I've spent the last month and about $3000 on credit from a number of sources to put this rig together, and now I don't know where to go from here...

I've got it all together, all wired, ready to go, just needs the drivers and boot CDs... what ordered do I put them in?

should the processor have come with a CD?

I'm kinda tryin to get this thing runnin right away, but I have a feeling it's gonna take a couple more days, so any help is appreciated...
__________________

__________________
2007 Rig|CM Stacker T01|E6850|TRUE 120|BFG nVIDIA nFORCE 680i SLI
4x1.0GB PC2-6400 DDR2
|eVGA 8800 GT 512MB|WD Raptor X 150GB|Seagate Barracuda 2TB|ThermalTake PurePower 600w
LG 22" Widescreen LCD
|2x LG SecurDisc DL DVD/CD RW w/LightScribe|Windows 7 64-bit|Logitech G15/G5


Pending|CM HAF 932 Blue|i5-4670K|Corsair H100i|ASRock Z87 EXTREME4
Kingston HyperX Black 2x4GB
|eVGA GTX 760 4GB|Corsair Neutron 120GB|Seagate Barracuda 2TB|Corsair HX750
2x ACER 21.5” Widescreen LED LCD
|LITE-ON DVD Burner|Windows 7 64-bit|Corsair Vengeance M65/K70|Razer Carcharias

If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
anime_dude07 is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 11:34 PM   #2 (permalink)
Mod Emeritus
 
b1gapl's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: USA
Posts: 13,044
Default Re: need help asap if possible...

So you question is, how you should go about turning it on, installing OS, and get it up and running?

First you turn it on, go into BIOS and set the boot priority to boot from the CD drive first, save settings and reboot, insert OS CD, follow instructions on installing the OS. When you get to the desktop area, insert the driver CD that came with the motherboard, and install the necessary drivers.

After that, download and install all the updates for your OS and software. And you should be good to go.

....and no, CPUs don't have CDs included with them.
__________________

__________________


3770K | ASUS STRIX GTX 1080 | DDR3-1600 16GB | CORSAIR 650D | CORSAIR HX 850W | CORSAIR H100 | SOUND BLASTER Z | ASROCK EXTREME4 GEN3

b1gapl is offline  
Old 11-01-2007, 11:35 PM   #3 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: San Jose, California
Posts: 2,456
Send a message via AIM to phucng_10 Send a message via Yahoo to phucng_10
Default Re: need help asap if possible...

Order as in Optical Drive first, HDD second, and Manual Boot third?
__________________
|phucng_10's WM|
phucng_10 is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 10:38 AM   #4 (permalink)
True Techie
 
anime_dude07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to anime_dude07
Default Re: need help asap if possible...

okay.... yet another noob question here, as this is my first build, how do I get to the BIOS?
and what the heck is this message that appears on screen that says something to the effect of media check bad, or something like that, then it says exiting nvidia something or other, and then it says to insert a disc I think.... (I don't remember what it said cause this was all last night at 11:48p.m. and I had like three hours of sleep the night before...)

and is phucng right when he says that's the order the drives should boot in?

and once I do all that, do I need to change it back at some point?


when I'm finally all done with that, I'm gonna need help OCing the cpu and vga, but I'll search the forums first... this topic was difficult to search for, plus I was in serious panic mode about this high pitch buzz that it was making the first time I fired it up... got that fixed though, forgot to plug the power cord into the graphics card... yet another one to chalk up on the uber noob list of mistakes so far... but I think I'm gettin the hang of this building a computer thing...
__________________
2007 Rig|CM Stacker T01|E6850|TRUE 120|BFG nVIDIA nFORCE 680i SLI
4x1.0GB PC2-6400 DDR2
|eVGA 8800 GT 512MB|WD Raptor X 150GB|Seagate Barracuda 2TB|ThermalTake PurePower 600w
LG 22" Widescreen LCD
|2x LG SecurDisc DL DVD/CD RW w/LightScribe|Windows 7 64-bit|Logitech G15/G5


Pending|CM HAF 932 Blue|i5-4670K|Corsair H100i|ASRock Z87 EXTREME4
Kingston HyperX Black 2x4GB
|eVGA GTX 760 4GB|Corsair Neutron 120GB|Seagate Barracuda 2TB|Corsair HX750
2x ACER 21.5” Widescreen LED LCD
|LITE-ON DVD Burner|Windows 7 64-bit|Corsair Vengeance M65/K70|Razer Carcharias

If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
anime_dude07 is offline  
Old 11-02-2007, 07:52 PM   #5 (permalink)
Field Engineer
 
SHAWN's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2004
Location: Long Island, NY
Posts: 4,697
Send a message via AIM to SHAWN
Default Re: need help asap if possible...

1. Boot order is personal preference
2. Depending on your system board depends on how you can enter your bios. Typically it is 'DEL' at the first boot screen.
3. If you are asking questions on how to install Windows and configure boot orders, you really shouldn't be overclocking as if you don't know what your doing, you will destroy your hardware.

Microsoft's instructions on installing Windows XP:
How to install or upgrade to Windows XP
__________________
A+, Network + , HP Certified Tech and MCP

Specs: AMD Phenom II X6 1095T, Asus M477TD, 8GB GSkill Ripjaws DDR3 1600 7-8-7-24 1T, 128GB Crucial M4 SSD, ATi HD4650, W7, 27" HL272 Monitor
SHAWN is offline  
Old 11-03-2007, 12:09 AM   #6 (permalink)
True Techie
 
anime_dude07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to anime_dude07
Default Re: need help asap if possible...

okay... new qusetion.... I got vista ultimate on it, and put in the mobo driver cd, and went through the menus to install the drivers for the mobo, first thing to do, and clicked the words and nothing happened... what did I do wrong? why is it not installing, ****it!!!
__________________
2007 Rig|CM Stacker T01|E6850|TRUE 120|BFG nVIDIA nFORCE 680i SLI
4x1.0GB PC2-6400 DDR2
|eVGA 8800 GT 512MB|WD Raptor X 150GB|Seagate Barracuda 2TB|ThermalTake PurePower 600w
LG 22" Widescreen LCD
|2x LG SecurDisc DL DVD/CD RW w/LightScribe|Windows 7 64-bit|Logitech G15/G5


Pending|CM HAF 932 Blue|i5-4670K|Corsair H100i|ASRock Z87 EXTREME4
Kingston HyperX Black 2x4GB
|eVGA GTX 760 4GB|Corsair Neutron 120GB|Seagate Barracuda 2TB|Corsair HX750
2x ACER 21.5” Widescreen LED LCD
|LITE-ON DVD Burner|Windows 7 64-bit|Corsair Vengeance M65/K70|Razer Carcharias

If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
anime_dude07 is offline  
Old 11-03-2007, 01:34 AM   #7 (permalink)
True Techie
 
anime_dude07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to anime_dude07
Default Re: need help asap if possible...

anyone? nobody has EVER had this problem before?
__________________
2007 Rig|CM Stacker T01|E6850|TRUE 120|BFG nVIDIA nFORCE 680i SLI
4x1.0GB PC2-6400 DDR2
|eVGA 8800 GT 512MB|WD Raptor X 150GB|Seagate Barracuda 2TB|ThermalTake PurePower 600w
LG 22" Widescreen LCD
|2x LG SecurDisc DL DVD/CD RW w/LightScribe|Windows 7 64-bit|Logitech G15/G5


Pending|CM HAF 932 Blue|i5-4670K|Corsair H100i|ASRock Z87 EXTREME4
Kingston HyperX Black 2x4GB
|eVGA GTX 760 4GB|Corsair Neutron 120GB|Seagate Barracuda 2TB|Corsair HX750
2x ACER 21.5” Widescreen LED LCD
|LITE-ON DVD Burner|Windows 7 64-bit|Corsair Vengeance M65/K70|Razer Carcharias

If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
anime_dude07 is offline  
Old 11-03-2007, 04:20 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2007
Posts: 3
Default Re: need help asap if possible...

Quote:
Originally Posted by anime_dude07 View Post
okay... new qusetion.... I got vista ultimate on it, and put in the mobo driver cd, and went through the menus to install the drivers for the mobo, first thing to do, and clicked the words and nothing happened... what did I do wrong? why is it not installing, ****it!!!

you'll probably have to go on the manufacturer's website and see if they even have a working driver for vista. xp w/ sp2 is fairly cheap, i say just buy that and almost all of your problems will most likely be solved. vista is super pointless, seeing as to how only a handful of games untilize dx10 and how you need a godly setup to even run it.
moocus is offline  
Old 11-03-2007, 11:57 AM   #9 (permalink)
True Techie
 
anime_dude07's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2007
Location: Montgomery, Alabama
Posts: 181
Send a message via AIM to anime_dude07
Default Re: need help asap if possible...

yea... I did get it running w/ vista, hooked it up to the internet, and that's acctually what I'm on right now, and went to nvidia.com and got the driver for vista... thanks for the advice but I thought of that last night...

now I have another problem, only it's not so emergency...

I got a dynex all-in-one card reader for my flash cards (SD, MS pro duo, and a bunch of others but I only have the two right now...)

put the install CD in, ran the program on it, and it said it needed XP SP1 to work...

then when it closed out, windows popped up w/ a window that offered to install it w/ vista settings...

I thought that was my answer, til I got to the install shield screen and it said to plug it in... it IS plugged in... then it said it couldn't install it since it wasn't plugged in... WTF do I do now? i can't install it because it says it isnt plugged in, and I cant plug it in if it's already plugged in...
__________________
2007 Rig|CM Stacker T01|E6850|TRUE 120|BFG nVIDIA nFORCE 680i SLI
4x1.0GB PC2-6400 DDR2
|eVGA 8800 GT 512MB|WD Raptor X 150GB|Seagate Barracuda 2TB|ThermalTake PurePower 600w
LG 22" Widescreen LCD
|2x LG SecurDisc DL DVD/CD RW w/LightScribe|Windows 7 64-bit|Logitech G15/G5


Pending|CM HAF 932 Blue|i5-4670K|Corsair H100i|ASRock Z87 EXTREME4
Kingston HyperX Black 2x4GB
|eVGA GTX 760 4GB|Corsair Neutron 120GB|Seagate Barracuda 2TB|Corsair HX750
2x ACER 21.5” Widescreen LED LCD
|LITE-ON DVD Burner|Windows 7 64-bit|Corsair Vengeance M65/K70|Razer Carcharias

If I helped you, give a thanks! ↓
anime_dude07 is offline  
Old 11-03-2007, 12:23 PM   #10 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
brinks's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: Canada
Posts: 1,144
Default Re: need help asap if possible...

Try having it unplugged now, then when it ask you to plug it in, plug it in.
__________________

brinks is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
need help asap Ronnie New Systems | Building and Buying 12 10-01-2007 08:11 PM
Urgent!!! Need A Gfx Card Asap krazyq New Systems | Building and Buying 17 09-05-2007 12:30 AM
quick question about thermal paste, please reply ASAP thanks. Snake64_009 New Systems | Building and Buying 2 07-05-2007 11:21 AM
Gamecube + 18 Games + More NEEDS TO GO ASAP spikoman69 Buy/Sell/Trade and Hot Deals 9 05-17-2007 10:05 PM
Please Answer Asap!! revenge2 Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-21-2007 09:56 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.