need help - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-29-2005, 11:59 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 1
Question need help

my mouse and keyboard do not work on son;s computerthey froze up and i have restarted it and everything
__________________

__________________
jaejae6 is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 12:17 AM   #2 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
RockyZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 893
Send a message via AIM to RockyZ
Default

Well some of these things are pretty obvious and I'm not saying you're stupid, so if they seem like obvious ones don't get mad at me, I just wnat to check if you might have forgotten to check them.

1.Is it plugged in fully? (really obvious)

2.Did you spill any water on either of the devices? If you are not sure, plug in a new set of keyboard/mouse and see if those work, if not, then thats not the problem.

3.Is you power supply and button cables plugged in correctly, sometimes the computer does not boot correctly with all devices turned on when some of those things are plugged in too loosely or crooked.

4.Did you mess with the BIOS before this happened? If so go to 4a.
4a.Clear BIOS, usually does this if you leave power off for 10 minutes or you set the jumpers to the right positions then reboot (remember to turn off power supply when doing this).(Only do this as your last resort)

5.I expirienced this and it is the PS/2 plugs have the little wires crooked, look at the little gold pins in your PS/2 plug and see if they are crooked or bent, fix them using your fingers(carefully) and see if it works now.
__________________

__________________

e6300@2.8GHZ
G. Skill 4GB(2x2GB) DDR800
eVGA 8800GTS 320MB
super pi: 1m=20s
RockyZ is offline  
Old 10-30-2005, 01:41 PM   #3 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,387
Default

If either or both are USB, try pluging it into a different port. My mouse sometimes quits working, and I have to do that...
__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD Ryzen 5 1600 x6 core / MSI B350 Gaming Plus
Samsung 970 EVO 250GB M.2 SSD / WD Blue SSD 250GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR4 2400 / Win10 Pro x64
Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2018, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.