Need help with 5.25" floppy data - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-05-2006, 12:31 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default Need help with 5.25" floppy data

I need a way to transfer data from an old 5.25" floppy drive to a hard disk. I don't know if most computers are compatible with 5.25" floppies anymore, but there has to be some way to pull information of those disks, right?

I've got a ton of archaeological information that was stored in those floppies back in the 80's and 90's and we (my university) are concerned about losing the ability to read these disks in the not too distant future, so we want to transfer them to something more reliable.

Anyway, if you know of a product or method or get this information quickly and securely (****, if you know how to get it at all) please let me know. Thanks!
__________________

mstaten is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 02:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

http://cgi.ebay.com/2-5-1-4-Floppy-D...QQcmdZViewItem
__________________

__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 05:53 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2005
Posts: 3
Default

That's not quite what I had in mind.

I guess what I'm asking is this: will I be able to connect an old 5.25" floppy to a computer built within the last two years?
mstaten is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 06:00 PM   #4 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

yes, most are the same connection as a 1/4" floppy
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 06:04 PM   #5 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Jul 2006
Posts: 351
Default

oh right, i thought you had disks and were looking for a drive,, what interface does the 5.25 floppy drive use
__________________
E6300 Core 2 Duo
GA-965P-DS3
2 Gbs OCZ PLatinum 800Mhz
250 Gb Western Digital
OCZ Modsteam 450W
7900GT Gainward
Flux Capacitor....SWEEEET
OatesyX is offline  
Old 10-05-2006, 06:23 PM   #6 (permalink)
Do work.
 
molsen's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Location: Jacksonville, FL
Posts: 1,177
Send a message via AIM to molsen
Default

whatever the standard floppy connector is. IDE??

the really old ones had a different interface i believe. some newer ones have USB connectivity.
__________________
http://mattjolsen.tumblr.com
flickr

Intel E8400 @ 3.78ghz
8gb (4x2gb) G.SKILL DDR2 1600 @ 420mhz, 5-5-5-12
ASrock P43Twins1600 (hates RAM dividers)
WD Caviar 500gb + 250gb hdd, 32mb cache
eVGA 7900gs @ 585/1700mhz
OCZ GameXStream 600w PSU
Sound Blaster X-Fi Platinum
Cooler Master Centurion 5 case
molsen is offline  
Old 10-06-2006, 01:35 PM   #7 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Nitestick's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2005
Location: смерти для спаме
Posts: 8,473
Default

while the 5.25" drives do connect via the same port as 3.5" floppy drives they have a different cable connector. you may have a fair bit of trouble getting the cable, i have a ton but i live in Australia otherwise i would send you one. haven't seen one available for purchase in quite some time. many older floppy cables will have one connector for a 3.5" floppy and another for a 5.25" drive. it will work as long as you can get the drive and cable.
Nitestick is offline  
Old 10-07-2006, 09:20 PM   #8 (permalink)
Member (again)
 
macdude425's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: Raul's Wild Kingdom...How 'bout that, huh?
Posts: 4,202
Send a message via AIM to macdude425 Send a message via Yahoo to macdude425
Default

Well, first of all, I'm assuming these are IBM PC compatible disks and not Apple II/C(64/128) or other format.

Then, yes, there is a special connector needed to connect 5.25 inch floppy drives to motherboards.
http://cgi.ebay.com/Combo-3-5-and-5-...QQcmdZViewItem

Looks like that.
__________________



Debian Support Forums!
macdude425 is offline  
Old 10-08-2006, 12:28 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
sPlAtOiD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2002
Posts: 1,748
Default Hey There

I'm pretty sure I will able to get you a cable for a 5.25 floppy I have a garage full of old computers a bunch still have these drives in them. I know why would I have a garage full of old computers? Well I have a little problem with electronics. Cant throw them out. Let me know and i'll see what I can do.
__________________

sPlAtOiD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 06:18 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.