Need Help! - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-15-2006, 12:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default Need Help!

I have a nForce4 939 Socket nVidia Mobo, 2 GIG ram (1x each) and everytime I try to put in the 3rd (1gig) ram in the third slot (I have 4 slots) the computer will boot, but the screen is black.

I have AMD 64 3000+ Processor and 2 GIG ram, but I'am trying to install a 3rd 1gig of ram (the same ram as those two others!) and it doesnt work? What can be wrong?

I know it said that my mobo supports up to 4gigs! I also updated my Windows, Mobo and all drivers.
__________________

14words4u is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 01:14 PM   #2 (permalink)
Grandfather of Techist

\_(ツ)_/
 
Trotter's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: The South
Posts: 31,304
Default

Could be a bad stick of RAM.

Try swapping it for one of your other sticks and see if it works.
__________________

__________________


My Rig: SABLE
Antec 300 Illusion / Antec EarthWatts EA650 650W / ASUS GeForce GTX 960 GTX960-DC2OC-2GD5
AMD FX 8320 x8 Black Edition / Gelid Tranquillo / MSI 970A-G43
Sandisk Ultra Plus 128GB / Samsung 840 120GB / WD Black 750GB / WD Green 1TB
2x4GB DDR3 1600 - 2x2GB DDR3 1600
Win10 Ent 64-bit - Mionix Naos 7000 Mouse - CM Storm QuickFire Rapid Mech Keyboard


R.I.P. Danny L. Trotter ... 14 Nov 1945 - 4 Sept 2009
Trotter is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 01:23 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

I did that (forgot to add) and everything works, its just when I plug in the 3rd stick (dont matter which one) its blank screen.

What could be wrong?
14words4u is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 02:25 PM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

your mobo isn't likein the configuration of the RAM.

Some mobo's can be quite specific, for example mine demands that if I use 2 single sided sticks and 2 double sided sticks they have to go in a certain way or it won't recognise them.

are all your sticks the same? all single or double sided? and which are they?
Also which exact mobo model are you using.

the alternative of course is that the DIMM socket is crap.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 03:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by MrCoffee
your mobo isn't likein the configuration of the RAM.

Some mobo's can be quite specific, for example mine demands that if I use 2 single sided sticks and 2 double sided sticks they have to go in a certain way or it won't recognise them.

are all your sticks the same? all single or double sided? and which are they?
Also which exact mobo model are you using.

the alternative of course is that the DIMM socket is crap.

MOBO
model - NF-CK804
chipset - nVidia nForce4 Rev. A3
southbridge - nVidia nForce4 MCP
sensor - ITE IT8712

BIOS
brand - Phoenix Technologies, LTD
version - 6.00 PH
Date 3/30/2005

GRAPHIC INTERFACE
version - PCI-Express
link width - x16

MEMORY
type - ddr channels - dual
size - 2048 MBytes
frequency - 220.0 MHz
FSBRAM CPU/9
CAS# Latency - 3.0 clocks
RAS# To CAS# Delay - 4 clocks
RAS# Precharge - 4 clocks
Cycle Time (Tras) - clocks
Bank Cycle Time - 12 clocks
Command Rate - 1T
DRAM Idle Timer - 16 clocks

SPD (MEMORY SLOT SELECTION)
Slot #1 - DDR 1024 MBytes, PC3200 (200 MHz)
Slot #2 - DDR 1024 MBytes, PC3200 (200 MHz)

CPU
AMD Athlon 64 3000+
Winchester Brand ID 4
Socket 939
90nm, 1.400 Voltage

instructions MMX+ 3Dow, SSE, SSE2, x86-64

Core Speed 1980.0 MHZ
Multiplier x 9.0
Bus Speed 220.0MHz
HT Link 1100.0 MHz
L1 Data 64 KBytes
L1 Code 64 KBytes
Level 2 512 KBytes

That is taken from CPU-Z

Any help?
14words4u is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 03:58 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

I take it you've tried installing the ram with that overclock taken off?

Anyway, can you take a look at the actual ram sticks and tell me if they have chips on one side only or on both sides?

also can you get the model of your mobo because CPUz is reporting some sort of generic Gigabyte mobo code.
__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 04:14 PM   #7 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Is your mobo a GA-K8NF-9 because I just checked out the manual and it says:

The GA-K8NF-9 doesn't support 3 memory modules. If 3 memory modules are installed, the
system will not boot.

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 06:22 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Posts: 5
Default

Yes the memory sticks have "Chips" (those black things) on both sides.

They are PC3200 DDR SDRAM 128M x 64 1GB
DDR DIMM
by pQI

i dont know about mobo..
14words4u is offline  
Old 09-15-2006, 06:29 PM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

ok, get Everest home edition and check out what it says your mobo is

Here

E.g.

__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:40 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.