Need Advice Over Heating Processor/Video Card - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-06-2006, 12:10 PM   #11 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Open it up, on the right hand window it should tell the temps of your HD and CPU. What does it say?
__________________

__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 12:13 PM   #12 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

On the "readings" tab...
__________________

__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 04:24 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 13
Default

the HDO says 28 degrees C. and temp 1 goes up and down from 37-40c, i don't see a CPU title anywhere in the readings tab, i download the 4.28 version could possibly be different.

My video card reached rezch 118 yesturday while i was playing civilization 4 before the FPS went completely down, making me restart my computer inorder to continue to play without the lag.
Dukes is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 05:13 PM   #14 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 158
Send a message via AIM to kaname
Default

How's your case airflow? Do you have plenty of air going through the case? If that's ok, try re-seating the HSF with new thermal paste, like AS5, on the cpu if nothing else works.
__________________
EVGA 680i SLi
E6400 @ 3.0 GHz
4 GB OCZ Platinum Rev. 2 EL @ 880
400GB + 250GB Seagate Barracuda SATA2
EVGA 8800GTs
Antec P180B Case
kaname is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 05:34 PM   #15 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

I think the "temp" is the CPU.

118F is about 48C which is not too hot, it shouldnt shut down your computer. But, how do you know this is the actual temp of the graphics card. You mention you have a temp reading on the front of your computer, do you know exactly what it is measuring? Because if speedfan says your CPU is 40C, this is much lower than 48C (118F). Just trying to figure out where that 118F is coming from.

A 2.8G CPU should not be overheating on Civ. When you mention your graphics card is custom made, what do you mean?
__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Old 06-06-2006, 06:01 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Posts: 13
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by leonardmp92
I think the "temp" is the CPU.

118F is about 48C which is not too hot, it shouldnt shut down your computer. But, how do you know this is the actual temp of the graphics card. You mention you have a temp reading on the front of your computer, do you know exactly what it is measuring? Because if speedfan says your CPU is 40C, this is much lower than 48C (118F). Just trying to figure out where that 118F is coming from.

A 2.8G CPU should not be overheating on Civ. When you mention your graphics card is custom made, what do you mean?
no i meant my computer is customly made, i put the temperature reading inbetween the fan(heatsync) and the the card itself, like where the fan is, so the reading can be a bit lower. i can pretty much stick the thermometer almost anywhere in the computer to get a reading of a temperature.

the FPS doesn't drop in the beginning of the game in civ but towards the end where alot of buildings and land are covered then it starts, also i ran a demo of BF2 and the lag was pretty big.
Dukes is offline  
Old 06-07-2006, 12:45 AM   #17 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 602
Default

Hmm...not sure how to solve, still learning myself about video cards, I just thought the CPU was overheating and slowing everything else up.
__________________

__________________
-AMD Phenon X2 555
-Gigabyte GA-880GA-UD3H
-Western Digital Caviar RE WD2500YD 250GB 7200 RPM 16MB Cache Serial ATA150
-Patriot Sector 5 DDR3-1333 (4GB)
-Rosewill 500W PSU
leonardmp92 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 05:03 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.