My uncle's computer troubles - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2006, 07:31 AM   #1 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default My uncle's computer troubles

Hey, my uncle is having a bit of computer trouble:

"If anyone can help out here I would really appreciate it...I have two computers that were running and then died. I have run out of ideas to try to fix them. The first puter is an AMD Thunderbird 800mhz, 768mb ram, 300w ps, Abit AT7 MB, Hercules 3D Prophet II MX video card, Windows XP Pro. Puter has run fine every day for 2 years. Upon starting it, all we got was a flashing _ symbol in the upper left of the screen. We tried cold crashing it and restarting it, but now all we get is "No Input". I've changed monitors (ones that I know work), changed video cards, I even installed a new FIC KT400 Pro Socket 462 XP 3200+ ATX Motherboard w-Lan,Snd and 256mb new PC3200 DDR400 Ram. I still have the same problem...NO INPUT.


Second puter has the same problem. Specs are AMD Athlon 1400 (1.4ghz), 768mb ram, NEW 350w ps, Abit KR7A MB, Hercules 3D Prophet II MX video card, Windows XP Pro. This puter is a new/used build. MB, CPU, and ram are used. They came from a running puter. System was running fine. I shut it down for the night, the next day I tried to start it. All I got was "No Input". I tried changing monitors, changed the video card (tried AGP and PCI), all with no luck.

I've run out of things to try. Anyone got an idea?"

Anyone got any suggestions for me to pass along?
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 07:35 AM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
MrCoffee's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: UK
Posts: 1,858
Default

Reset the CMOS, could of been a power surge or something.
__________________

__________________
Intel core I7 920
GA-EX58-UD3R
6GB OCZ platinum 1600
XFX HD4890
Noctua nh-u12p
Corsair HX520
Antec 300
Samsung 1TB F1 Spinpoint
Samsung SM2443BW 24"
MrCoffee is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 07:41 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

I already suggested that. I also told him to look for bad capacitors. I'll see what he says when he comes online.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 05-12-2006, 08:32 AM   #4 (permalink)
Jby
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Posts: 54
Default

The flashing _ suggests that it was looking through boot devices and couldn't find anything to boot from - probably a corrupted,damaged and inaccessible harddrive - I've had this problem quite a few times befoer and once it was unfixable.

But sounds to me like it was definately a power surge, they both seem to have went down within a short period with the same symptoms and on the first computer the only thing you didn't list changing is the PSU - suggests its buggered.
Jby is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 08:58 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.