Is my PSU dead? - Page 7 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-29-2008, 07:44 PM   #61 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

Hmm... well my problem has taken a lot of different turns. Could you elaborate a little bit on what similar issues you had?

I'm shopping around for a motherboard and a CPU right now but does anyone know the highest compatible AMD processor that my motherboard takes? It's a Biostar TForce4 SLI. I checked the Biostar website and while it shows it for the other motherboards, it doesn't for this one.

Also I should point out that the computer was still on when I came back from class around an hour ago.
__________________

__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 08:04 PM   #62 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

Quote:
Originally Posted by JeffK91 View Post
Hmm... well my problem has taken a lot of different turns. Could you elaborate a little bit on what similar issues you had?

I'm shopping around for a motherboard and a CPU right now but does anyone know the highest compatible AMD processor that my motherboard takes? It's a Biostar TForce4 SLI. I checked the Biostar website and while it shows it for the other motherboards, it doesn't for this one.

Also I should point out that the computer was still on when I came back from class around an hour ago.
I had very frequent turn offs just at random and i got so bad off as to where i couldnt even see CMOS. so what i did was deduce if it was the mobo or not. i tested to see if it was my PSU by jumping it and that wasnt the case so i pluged everything back in and took my CPU out and took off the CPU power pin and my fans got spun up and stayed on even my GPU fan so i knew it wouldnt be the mobo because my GFX card was getting power and sending a signal even without a PSU connection

i deduced this because if your 24 pin isnt in a complete circuit then none of your molex connections will work. so i noticed that seing as how the electricity can complete a circuit nd come back to the 24 pin on its negative side there for a complete circuit it wouldnt be a faulty board.

so i went up to my local tigerdirect
bought me a new CPU and poped that bad boy in and presto DawnOfDoom was up and running again.
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 08:17 PM   #63 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

Well I remember jumping my PSU and it was still working but I replaced it anyway and I am now at least able to boot up the computer every time.

I have been looking to upgrade my CPU anyway but it seems like I'll have to upgrade my motherboard as the highest compatible CPU is a 4800. I'm looking at getting a 6400.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 08:12 AM   #64 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

Newegg.com - DFI LP UT 790FX-M2R AM2+/AM2 AMD 790FX ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail

Thats a good 790 board from DFI its compatable with the 6400 and phenom if u decide to upgrade later.



Here's a cheaper one from MSI that has the same capabilities pretty much

Newegg.com - MSI K9A2 CF-F AM2+/AM2 AMD 790X ATX AMD Motherboard - Retail
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 01:52 PM   #65 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

The MSI one is for ATI cards though. I'm looking for an SLI board at the moment because I don't want to upgrade on my 7800GTs just yet.

I just want to bring up my main problem again which I hope I can fix today. I have deduced every possible problem and I have now found out that when I leave my case down it never will randomly shut off but when I leave the case up and standing like how it should be, it'll rarely get past the Windows XP screen without shutting down and even if it does it ends up shutting down shortly thereafter.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 08:27 PM   #66 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

try taking out your motherboard and removing the standoffs that its on and replace the stand offs and make sure their in tight and when yu put the board back in make sure the board is down tight so its grounded with the case.
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 08:35 PM   #67 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

I actually think it has to do with the stock CPU fan since I'm pretty sure the computer goes to shut down mode once it detects that there is no fan attached to the CPU in order to prevent overheating and damaging it. I'm thinking of purchasing this Newegg.com - ZALMAN 9500A 92mm 2 Ball CPU Cooler - Retail

I also noticed that my DVD drives do not open up nor does the light light up. I have two hard drives which are SATA and two DVD drives, one is a DVD rom and the other a DVD-RW. The DVD-RW is set to master and the DVD rom to slave and I attached both to the IDE1 slot on the motherboard. Did I do something wrong here?
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 08:51 PM   #68 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

after you put in the new PSU did you plug all your Molex's up to the Dvd drives and HDD's correctly?
__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Old 03-01-2008, 11:32 PM   #69 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

Ugh, pretty dumb of me. The molex connector was loose and it seemed to have fixed the problem except for the fact that neither of the two will open up when I hit the open button. It just makes a little noise like it's trying to come out but can't. I can only get it to open by using a paper clip through the emergency hole.

I also noticed that from looking at the manual, I did not have anything connected from the audio output to my soundcard. The manual says that if I have a soundcard I should connect those two but I never have. Does this make any difference if it is not?
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 03-02-2008, 01:09 AM   #70 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

i doubt taht the cable makes a difference

it sounds like maybe the motor isnt getting enough juice or is about to die out on you. when you close it does it go back in smothly or do you haveto kinda force it?
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upside-Down PSU Crazydog115 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-14-2008 12:57 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM
Dead pixel doom. (Good monitor to dodge dead pixels?) SpellSword System Upgrades 6 12-16-2007 02:37 PM
Psu Redmo0n System Upgrades 6 12-15-2007 11:35 PM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 11:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.