Is my PSU dead? - Page 6 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-29-2008, 12:16 AM   #51 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Black Falcon 921's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 562
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

looks that way clearing the cmos every time would get old real fast I would think
__________________

__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Black Falcon 921 is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 12:17 AM   #52 (permalink)
Ste
Do not Stare at my Avatar
 
Ste's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: Upon Gleaning Infinity
Posts: 9,577
Send a message via MSN to Ste
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

Its not for certain, but most likely it is.
__________________

Ste is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 12:20 AM   #53 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Black Falcon 921's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 562
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

Quote:
Originally Posted by Ste View Post
Its not for certain, but most likely it is.


Agreed i don't wanna tell you thats for sure what it is and have you go spend money on a new one and that was not it, it sounds like it is a really good possibility that it is going out.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Black Falcon 921 is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 12:34 AM   #54 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

Darn, I was hoping it wouldn't come to this...

Would you guys recommend I send it back to Biostar for a flat $30 fee because it is out of warranty or get a new one? Could you guys recommend a good SLI motherboard for my current hardware? I also am in need of a CPU and case fans. My current motherboard doesn't even have a heatsink. Thanks in advance.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 04:58 AM   #55 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2008
Posts: 23
Question Re: Is my PSU dead?

I have this problem too, I have another PSU to try later, but I was wondering what "RMA the motherboard" mean?!
! Whitey ! is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 08:20 AM   #56 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

RMA means to return it. Unfortunately Biostar only offers a one year warranty and anything beyond that you have to pay a flat fee of $30 to get warranty service. What should I do?

I notice that even when I restart the CMOS, even though I can get pass the Windows XP login screen, the computer still shuts down maybe after 15-20 minutes. Also I notice whenever the computer boots up it goes the screen with the Energystar and it shows the harddrives I have connected. How do I automatically get past this screen without having to hit F1 all the time?
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 10:53 AM   #57 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Black Falcon 921's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Cypress, Texas
Posts: 562
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

Dang thirty.... Is that plus shipping, how much did your board cost to being with?
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Black Falcon 921 is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 11:26 AM   #58 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

I think the board cost around $90 when I purchased it two years ago and it's $30 w/o shipping. Probably like $40 with it.

A bit of an update: For some weird reason when I lay the case down and open it up and boot up the PC, it seems to stay on for much longer. In fact, I have yet to shut down after around 20 minutes of the computer being on but when I lay the case up and close it, it normally can't even get past the Windows XP screen. Any ideas? Could it be overheating?

Remember that I am now using the stock fan for the CPU because my Zalman fan broke. I'm not sure if this adds fuel to the flame but for some reason the CPU stock fan that's in the computer right now is not on tight. It's tight enough where it wont fall it off but it's still very loose and I can't seem to tighten it any further because I lost the original screws and these ones are a bit short.

I'm gonna leave the computer on when I go to class and see if it is still on when I get back.
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 06:59 PM   #59 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2004
Posts: 422
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

Well I just got an email stating they'll send me a refurbished one as they no longer carry new ones of my motherboard. Sounds sort of a rip off.

Anyone have an idea on what the problem is now (from my above post)?
__________________
Athlon 64 X2 4200+ Manchester @ 2.2GHz ... Biostar TForce4SLI 939 ... 2GB (1GB X 2) XMS Corsair DDR400 ... PNY 9600GSO 768MB ... 2X 7200.2 Seagate Barracuda 160GB ... Cooler Master Centurion 5 ATX ... Antec TruePower Trio 550W ... Windows Vista 32-bit Premium ... Acer H213H 21.5" 1920X1080
JeffK91 is offline  
Old 02-29-2008, 07:01 PM   #60 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
DawnOfDoom's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2007
Location: North Carolina
Posts: 998
Send a message via MSN to DawnOfDoom Send a message via Yahoo to DawnOfDoom
Default Re: Is my PSU dead?

i've had an issue like this do you have a spare processor laying around that is compatable?

i've had issues with my Pentium D and i swapped it for a C2D e4500 and it runs like a charm
__________________

__________________
Quote:
Originally Posted by Oreo View Post
That was an epic forum speech, Doom is tech-forums very own Martin Luther King.
Don't Tell any one but I know who Crunch is...

I Do accept support requests via PM, MSN, and e-mail

If I have been helpful to you in any way please click the scale under my name
DawnOfDoom is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Upside-Down PSU Crazydog115 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 8 04-14-2008 12:57 PM
Question regarding mini ITX and recommended PSU 96300NAZ New Systems | Building and Buying 0 12-16-2007 10:29 PM
Dead pixel doom. (Good monitor to dodge dead pixels?) SpellSword System Upgrades 6 12-16-2007 02:37 PM
Psu Redmo0n System Upgrades 6 12-15-2007 11:35 PM
In Depth PSU Guide: Please Read. Oreo New Systems | Building and Buying 18 10-13-2007 11:54 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 07:18 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.