Is it my power supply? - Page 2 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-09-2011, 03:37 PM   #11 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Is it my power supply?

i see. is there a diagnostic thing i can do to make sure it's the mobo before i shell out the buko bucks and replace my mobo and maybe cpu (although its a decent cpu)

edit: I'm DL some diagnostic software to see if anything pops out, like CPU-Z, hot cpu tester, FreeRAM CP Pro, and HWMonitor


overkill I know
__________________

mendozer87 is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 03:45 PM   #12 (permalink)
TF's First Dry Ice User!
 
Peter.Cort's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2007
Location: Boston, MA
Posts: 5,018
Default Re: Is it my power supply?

Your CPU is most likely fine. The only diagnostic thing I can think of is a PSU tester. There really isn't a motherboard tester that I know, but if the PSU checks out then I would replace the mobo.
__________________

__________________
A notice to EVERYONE who has posted here with a computer problem, I highly encourage you to keep current with the forums, even if it's browsing for 10-15 minutes during lunch, or before you go to bed at night. There are many things that you can learn and apply to future issues. My goal is to help people get to a point where they can use their own knowledge to help themselves, and others.

Also please use the search button. You've got a 50/50 chance that someone's asked your question and we've answered it.
Peter.Cort is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 05:30 PM   #13 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Is it my power supply?

[IMG][/IMG]

this is what i got from cpu-z, freeRAM, and HWMonitor. teh cpu tester would have taken 6 hours so screw that
mendozer87 is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 06:54 PM   #14 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Is it my power supply?

Have you checked the front panel connections... They vcery well could be your issue.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 07:06 PM   #15 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Slaymate's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2009
Location: Florida
Posts: 7,946
Default Re: Is it my power supply?

@ mendozer87, please don't double post, if you have something else to add to the conversation and no one has posted a reply since your last post (within a 24 hr. period), please use the edit button (looks like a pencil) to add it to your previous post.
__________________
[SIGPIC][/SIGPIC]
Slaymate is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 08:38 PM   #16 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Is it my power supply?

i'll check those connections when i turn it off. i've been anxious to turn it off and watch it so south. Although when i was cleaning the whole case, the wires running to the mobo from the front panel were in tact
mendozer87 is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 08:51 PM   #17 (permalink)
 
patonb's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2005
Location: In Gov't Regulated Cubical
Posts: 9,745
Default Re: Is it my power supply?

Make sure theyre put in right aswell.
__________________
Foldie = i5 6600kMSI Z170A M5 EVGA 970 SC Corsair H100 Corsair hx520 2x8gb GSkill Corsair 650D
Woohoo = L5639 @3.1Ghz EVGA SR-2 gtx 260-216 Hyper 212+ Corsair 1050hx 6x2gb Corsair XMS3 Blackhawk Ulra
Alienware 18 - SLI 770M 4700mq 16Gig

patonb is offline  
Old 09-09-2011, 10:24 PM   #18 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Posts: 15
Default Re: Is it my power supply?

yup they're in there tight. i just looked up my athlon xp, it's a socket A and i don't believe any new mobo would comply with that. that means new chip too. i'll try to ride it out as long as i can until the mobo goes completely kapoot
__________________

mendozer87 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
desktop won't power up - blinking bule light - power supply? djreef Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 12-23-2009 12:33 PM
Dell desktop won't power up - blinking orange light - power supply? VgRt6 Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 21 12-23-2009 09:27 AM
Effects of too low of a power supply with power whoring graphics? stainer711 System Upgrades 2 12-27-2005 12:47 AM
Measuring the Maximum output power of the power supply? doooola Overclocking and Modding 1 10-24-2004 06:06 AM
Using a bare Power supply to power hard drives StereoGamer Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 3 04-21-2004 10:13 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:34 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.