my pc does'nt like cd drives - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-24-2006, 05:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default my pc does'nt like cd drives

how come when i connect up my second cd drive when windows is loading it screws up and just hangs while the blue bar goes anlong the screen?

specs are:

xp home sp2
p4 northwood 2.8 @ 3.4ghz
asusp4p800se mobo
10k 74gb raptor
7.2k 160gb hdd
dvd rw
500w smart power psu
ati 9700 pro 128mb
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 07:18 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

do you have it hooked up to the same ide cable as your hdd? if so, set the jumpers on the drive to slave...
__________________

Static_11 is offline  
Old 03-24-2006, 07:19 PM   #3 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

nope its on the same cable as the dvd rw
harry18 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 02:11 AM   #4 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

did you check your jumper settings? make sure their not both set to master, slave, or cs. if the dvd rw is set to master, then set the other one to slave , or if the dvd rw is set to cable select, then the new drive should either be set to master or slave
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 11:56 AM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
boomstick666's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2005
Posts: 743
Default

exactly same thing happened on my system w/ only 1 dvd drive connected. its even set to master. i just took it out from secondary boot device in BIOS and it fixed. especially any unbootable cd/dvd in the drive makes windows not want to start up. even my system HD is set as the primarily start up disk. so right now, in BIOS, theres only my system HD as a bootable disk. no secondary or other boot options enabled.
__________________
i5 2500K @ 4.8GHz 1.384v - AsRock P67 Extreme4 B3 BIOS 1.90
G.Skill Ripjaws X DDR3 PC12800 2x4GB @ 1866 9-10-9-28 1T 1.590v
EVGA GTX 570HD SC 930/1950 1.100v
Crucial M4 SSD 128GB - OCZ 700W PSU (4x18A) - Noctua NH-D14 (BM120mm x Noctua140mm)
Corsair 600T SE White - Windows 7 Ultimate 64Bit SP1 - Mitsubishi DiamondPro2070sb (CRT!)

3DMark11 P7089 | 3DMark Vantage P26383
boomstick666 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 03:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2005
Posts: 1,946
Send a message via AIM to Static_11 Send a message via Yahoo to Static_11
Default

http://www.nintek.com.au/x/scripts/p...idproduct=3183
Static_11 is offline  
Old 03-25-2006, 07:06 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 91
Default

Say you buy a pc of the shelf, and it doesnt come with a dvd rw, to install one, it is just screw it in place and plug it in to power and ide, right?
__________________
:freak:
| Intel Core 2 Q6600 / Zalman CNPS7000Bcu CPU LED cooler | XFX GeForce 8800GT Alpha Dog 512MB PCI-E | 2x1024mb Corsair XMS2 6400 | Gigabyte N650SLI DS4 | OCZ GameXstream 850W | Hitachi Deskstar 80gb IDE | WD Caviar 160gb IDE | WD Caviar 250gb SATA | Coolermaster Aerogate 2 |
IGeMex is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 06:16 PM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Posts: 31
Send a message via AIM to neodude112320 Send a message via Yahoo to neodude112320
Default

Try wiring it up when the pc is switched off
neodude112320 is offline  
Old 03-26-2006, 06:46 PM   #9 (permalink)
G33K P0W3R!!!!
 
bmxfreakrider's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2006
Location: HickTown, California (hesperia), and West Hollywood
Posts: 2,068
Default

i think he is doing that, but im pretty sure its either a bad cable or incorrect jumper settings, but on the other hand the drive could be bad. is there any chance you can test the drive in a different pc? also windows could freeze starting up if there is a disk in the drive(had that prob this mornin)
__________________
Listen to my music! and random/funny videos XD
Need a HDTV? Come find me at BestBuy #108 in Victorville XD
:D-----v Just pwnt my cpu, 900mhz OC v-----:D
bmxfreakrider is offline  
Old 03-27-2006, 06:56 AM   #10 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 823
Default

well i changed the jumpers and it is all good now, thanks chaps
__________________

harry18 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:09 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.