is my pc dead? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-08-2006, 03:48 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 47
Default is my pc dead?

my laptop turns on, the lights light, the HDD spins, and the cd drive ejects. The only trouble is, there is absolutely nothing on the screen. Which makes diagnosing problems difficult.

The problem started when I re-initialised it using the manufacturers discs (ie restored the original factory settings having backed up all my data). During that process it restarted, but failed to boot, ie power on etc but no screen, as above.

What might be the problem? If it's likely to be terminal, I'm going to bury it with full honours for being such a stalwart over the last 6 years. (sniff!)
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\" face=\"Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif\" color=\"#3B81C7\">2.4 GHz pentium 4, 768MB RAM, 64MB NVIDIA graphics, 40GB HDD, (nearly) TEAC CDRW, winXP sp2, 1400 x 1000 display.</font>
tarantulatarama is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 04:45 AM   #2 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 47
Default

one thought I have had is that if the hard drive is dead, the bios (contained in chips on the motherboard?) should still show...unless the screen is dead, but I don't think so. The HDD doesn't spin for long enough; it's like it starts up but there's no instruction for it to load any OS. If the motherboard has died, then praps I could get a new motherboard?

If anyone might suggest confirmation that my laptop IS in fact dead (or not!), I'd be very grateful.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\" face=\"Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif\" color=\"#3B81C7\">2.4 GHz pentium 4, 768MB RAM, 64MB NVIDIA graphics, 40GB HDD, (nearly) TEAC CDRW, winXP sp2, 1400 x 1000 display.</font>
tarantulatarama is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 02:01 PM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Well the HDD has nothing to do with showing stuff on the screen. I can shut off my rig and take the HDD out, and turn it on and it will have video..just telling me it doesn't have an OS to load.

So! I would be inclined to say either your MOBO is dead, your RAM is dead, or your GPU is dead.

And for future referance, a laptop is not a pc.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 03:44 PM   #4 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 47
Default

[/QUOTE]So! I would be inclined to say either your MOBO is dead, your RAM is dead, or your GPU is dead.

And for future referance, a laptop is not a pc. [/B][/QUOTE]

thanks crazed. is a GPU the same as a CPU?

also, for the uninitiated, praps you would care to differentiate between a pc and a laptop? I can appreciate the difference between a desktop and a laptop, but in my book, they are both personal computers (PCs)

thanks for your response.
__________________
<font size=\"1\" face=\"Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif\" color=\"#3B81C7\">2.4 GHz pentium 4, 768MB RAM, 64MB NVIDIA graphics, 40GB HDD, (nearly) TEAC CDRW, winXP sp2, 1400 x 1000 display.</font>
tarantulatarama is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 03:46 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 47
Default

sorry - got my html quotes wrong!
__________________
<font size=\"1\" face=\"Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif\" color=\"#3B81C7\">2.4 GHz pentium 4, 768MB RAM, 64MB NVIDIA graphics, 40GB HDD, (nearly) TEAC CDRW, winXP sp2, 1400 x 1000 display.</font>
tarantulatarama is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 03:50 PM   #6 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 2,992
Default

GPU stands for Graphics Processing Unit.

CPU stands for Core Processing Unit.

__________________



May the wind always be at your back and the sun upon your face, and may the winds of destiny carry you aloft to dance with the stars
Lord AnthraX is offline  
Old 06-09-2006, 06:02 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: May 2005
Posts: 47
Default

I thought 'CPU' stood for Central Processing Unit - but we know what it means either way. And now we know what GPU stands for - thanks, Lord A.
__________________

__________________
<font size=\"1\" face=\"Verdana, Arial, Helvetica, sans-serif\" color=\"#3B81C7\">2.4 GHz pentium 4, 768MB RAM, 64MB NVIDIA graphics, 40GB HDD, (nearly) TEAC CDRW, winXP sp2, 1400 x 1000 display.</font>
tarantulatarama is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:56 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.