My Optical (Laser) mouse don't turn off - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-19-2005, 05:48 AM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to yakir_sudry
Default My Optical (Laser) mouse don't turn off

well I bought A new computer with this motherbaord- K8NF-9 (NF4, s939, PCI-E)

and when I turn off my computer my mouse (which is optical) stays on.
if I dsconnect the computer from the pwer outet then after a few seconds it turns off and when I replug it it won't light again until I boot my computer.
Any ideas how to make it turn off?
__________________

__________________
IT Essentials 1-2
A+
CCNA


CPU - Athlon 64 3000+ (S-939) VENICE CORE
Mother Board- K8NF-9 (NF4, s939, PCI-E)
Video- Gigabyte 6600GT 256 MB
DVD Burner- NEC 3540A DVD±RW x16 Dual x8
HD- 80GB (8MB) SATA DiamondMax Plus 9
Memory 512Mb 400MHz Kingston CL3 *2 (1 GB)
Screen- 17'' LCD proview 8 ms 1:700
yakir_sudry is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 11:06 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Alvin.C's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: United Kingdom
Posts: 2,580
Default Re:

Hello,

When you turn off your PC, do you just press the power button on the tower?...or does this also happen when you go to Start > Shutdown ?
__________________

__________________
Alvin.C
linkedin.com/in/alvinwkchan

|Gaming PC| |Dell Latitude E7250| |Macbook Air 13" (Mid 2013)|
|Windows 10 Pro (x64)| |Intel Core i5-6600 @ 3.3 GHz| |MSI NVIDIA GeForce GTX 1080 Gaming X| |Noctua NH-D15S CPU Cooler| |Gigabyte GA-Z170MX-GAMING 5 mATX Motherboard| |Samsung 840 Pro 256GB SSD| |Corsair Vengeance LPX 16GB DDR4-SDRAM| |OCZ ModXStream Pro 700W Modular PSU| |NZXT Vulcan Micro ATX Case|
Alvin.C is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 11:33 AM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to yakir_sudry
Default

even when I turn off properly
__________________
IT Essentials 1-2
A+
CCNA


CPU - Athlon 64 3000+ (S-939) VENICE CORE
Mother Board- K8NF-9 (NF4, s939, PCI-E)
Video- Gigabyte 6600GT 256 MB
DVD Burner- NEC 3540A DVD±RW x16 Dual x8
HD- 80GB (8MB) SATA DiamondMax Plus 9
Memory 512Mb 400MHz Kingston CL3 *2 (1 GB)
Screen- 17'' LCD proview 8 ms 1:700
yakir_sudry is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 02:56 PM   #4 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I think your BIOS is set to enable power on function by clicking on the mouse. Check your BIOS power management configuration for any indication.
Law is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 03:44 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to yakir_sudry
Default

OK
Ive checked the BIOS and the only power managment settings that have any chance to be relevant are:

AC Back Function - Soft Off(currently) / full on
ACPI Suspend Type S1(Pos)(currently) / S3(Str)

any idea?
__________________
IT Essentials 1-2
A+
CCNA


CPU - Athlon 64 3000+ (S-939) VENICE CORE
Mother Board- K8NF-9 (NF4, s939, PCI-E)
Video- Gigabyte 6600GT 256 MB
DVD Burner- NEC 3540A DVD±RW x16 Dual x8
HD- 80GB (8MB) SATA DiamondMax Plus 9
Memory 512Mb 400MHz Kingston CL3 *2 (1 GB)
Screen- 17'' LCD proview 8 ms 1:700
yakir_sudry is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 04:26 PM   #6 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

Check your device manager, click on your mouse propertie, are there any power management on it?
Law is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 04:44 PM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2004
Posts: 81
Send a message via ICQ to yakir_sudry
Default

I don't see anything that seems reevant here
__________________
IT Essentials 1-2
A+
CCNA


CPU - Athlon 64 3000+ (S-939) VENICE CORE
Mother Board- K8NF-9 (NF4, s939, PCI-E)
Video- Gigabyte 6600GT 256 MB
DVD Burner- NEC 3540A DVD±RW x16 Dual x8
HD- 80GB (8MB) SATA DiamondMax Plus 9
Memory 512Mb 400MHz Kingston CL3 *2 (1 GB)
Screen- 17'' LCD proview 8 ms 1:700
yakir_sudry is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 04:46 PM   #8 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

This optical mouse is it a PS2 or USB? Wired or Wireless? Does this mouse stay on when you use it on another computer?
Law is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 04:54 PM   #9 (permalink)
Law
Wizard Techie
 
Law's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2005
Location: the data closet
Posts: 4,200
Default

I am reading your motherboard specification and I see that it supports "wakeup from keyboard/mouse"
Law is offline  
Old 10-19-2005, 09:05 PM   #10 (permalink)
PowerQuest / Opera
 
TheMajor's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2004
Location: Netherlands
Posts: 10,177
Default

Quote:
Originally posted by Law
I am reading your motherboard specification and I see that it supports "wakeup from keyboard/mouse"
My last mobo had the same option, but disabling it didn't help.
__________________

__________________
TheMajorMMX - Intel P200 MMX @ 225Mhz - V-Tech (PcPartner) Baby-AT mb w/ Intel Triton TX chipset - Nvidia Riva TNT2 M64 w/ 16MB - 256MB M-Tec SDRAM - Still running.....
TheMajor is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:54 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.