my new q6600 - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2008, 10:23 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33
Default my new q6600

Ok so i built everything and stuff right and im getting ready to install windows but i check bios and check pc health status, it tells me my cpu is idling at 88 degrees CELSIUS what is wrong?
__________________

sneakypants is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 10:30 PM   #2 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: my new q6600

well isn't just a few more degrees until things start to melt guys?

Did you apply the thermal paste properly?
__________________

__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 10:38 PM   #3 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 33
Default Re: my new q6600

is it suppose to come with thermal paste? i thought it was pre applied
sneakypants is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 11:04 PM   #4 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: my new q6600

are you using a stock heatsink (one that cam in the cpu box) if so then it is pre applied but otherwise you have to buy and apply it yourself. If you didn't use the stock cpu heatsink and don't have thermal paste leave your comp off until you do, you may already have damaged it.
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 11:29 PM   #5 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: my new q6600

It isn't applied all the time at all. Sneaky you should really read up on everything and make sure you know what you're doing before building a computer.

Make sure it's installed properly and is actually touching the CPU. With Intel all four pins are firmly in the motherboard so much that you should almost be able to lift your computer from it (don't actually try to lift your computer). Just pull up moderately hard and wiggle it around gently.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-16-2008, 11:41 PM   #6 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Luke's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2007
Location: Fonthill, Ontario, Canada
Posts: 5,601
Send a message via AIM to Luke Send a message via MSN to Luke
Default Re: my new q6600

hmm, i thought stock heatsinks always came with thermal paste Pre-applied (i learn something everyday)
__________________
3770K @ 4.7 Ghz H100 Water Cooled | GTX 970 MSI Gold Edition SLI
32GB G.Skill RipJaws (Rendering/ Virtualization) | Corsair 650D | CORSAIR RM1000W w/ White Cable KIt
Samsung 850 Pro 256 GB SSD Boot | OCZ Vertex 3 240GB SSD Secondary | WD Black 1 TB | WD Green 3 TB
Server: Core i7 920 | 8GB RAM | Intel 240gb 730 SSD Boot | 3 x 2TB WD RED | Fractal R4
Luke is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 12:46 AM   #7 (permalink)

Triforcer
 
Baez's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2005
Location: Toronto, Canada
Posts: 6,987
Default Re: my new q6600

Well I would have agreed with you except that a PC I built two days ago with a stock Intel HSF didn't come with it. There was another AMD a while back I believe that didn't have it either. Might just be a company error I don't really know.
__________________


Baez is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 10:10 AM   #8 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Apr 2008
Posts: 40
Default Re: my new q6600

does this only apply if you overclock?

I was thinking about getting a q6600 instead of the e8400. I am not planning on overclocking.
fireball is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 02:37 PM   #9 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,515
Default Re: my new q6600

No, it applies to non-overclocking as well. You should always apply tehermal paste.
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is offline  
Old 04-17-2008, 03:51 PM   #10 (permalink)
I know things...
 
wicked23's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Pennsylvania
Posts: 398
Default Re: my new q6600

Yes thermal paste helps transfer heat from processor to heatsink for optimal cooling.
__________________

__________________
"Research is what I'm doing when it looks like I'm not doing anything" :D

BEER, is it in you?
wicked23 is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
*The Official Tech-Forums 3DMark06/03 Rankings* gurusan Overclocking and Modding 4250 04-02-2015 12:23 PM
Q6600: G0 Stepping vs B3 Stepping 96z28 New Systems | Building and Buying 17 02-26-2008 12:45 PM
q6600 for gaming and OC Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 37 06-19-2007 10:12 PM
Overclocking a q6600 Riznarf New Systems | Building and Buying 2 06-04-2007 02:42 AM
Cheapest Q6600 Build Gumbercules New Systems | Building and Buying 34 06-01-2007 01:01 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 12:11 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.