is my motherboard or my prossessor fried? help would be VERY apritiated - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-09-2008, 06:51 AM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default is my motherboard or my prossessor fried? help would be VERY apritiated

hi folks

i am not a retard when it comes to computers. i have built several systems but i would like some opinions. i was stupid enough to put a 800w power supply into my high powered machine (6gig processor,4gig ocz platinum ram,sli 9800 gx2 graphics cards,) and soon enough there was a loud explosion and my power supply blew up so i went i bought a new power supply a 1000w this time installed it turned the computer on all the fans and everything was working fine hardware wise. but nothing AT ALL appeared on my monitor i have tryed different cables and monitors but still nothing. i have come to the conclusion that my power supply shorted out something but what. i don't want to go racing off to buy something like a motherboared when it is not broken

PS. i know it is not the graphics cards because i also tested my on-board graphics

any help would be great
__________________

lunchticket is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 09:49 AM   #2 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: is my motherboard or my prossessor fried? help would be VERY apritiated

Quote:
6gig processor
sure you know what you're talking about? ohhh yea, anyway....that system could probably run on a good 650watt psu btw....

sounds like it killed your mobo...if it was anything else it would at least post
__________________

__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 11:53 AM   #3 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: is my motherboard or my prossessor fried? help would be VERY apritiated

Ya there are no 6 gig processors, or even 6 gigahertz processors.

You should be getting an error beep at startup. If you aren't ensure you have the case speaker connected to the MB or connect one yourself. If you still aren't getting an error code beep more than likely your MB is fried.

1000 watt is rediculously over doing it. You probably could have done fine with 650 or so.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 11:54 AM   #4 (permalink)
Techie Beyond Description
 
veg1992's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 19,993
Default Re: is my motherboard or my prossessor fried? help would be VERY apritiated

I think he has a 3.0ghz Dualie and adding up the speeds
__________________
I do not accept help requests and/or deleted threads/complaints by PM, Profile or IM/Email. Just ask on the forums! Also, I do have Lockerz invites if you want them, feel free to PM me your email if you want one :0

If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the
or under my avatar; it helps me know that my advice actually helped you.


.. But things don't go according to plan! My Actual Rig, 2009:
veg1992 is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 07:26 PM   #5 (permalink)
Ultra Techie
 
advancedgeek's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2006
Location: Brisbane, QLD, Australia
Posts: 643
Send a message via AIM to advancedgeek Send a message via MSN to advancedgeek Send a message via Yahoo to advancedgeek
Default Re: is my motherboard or my prossessor fried? help would be VERY apritiated

probably you got a cheap psu and it fried the psu and other components. just dont ever skimp on a psu and there is a guide for getting good psu on the forums
__________________
Graphics card: Inno3D Nvidia GeForce 8800 GTS @ 640/940 (core/memory)
MB: Gigabyte GA-965P-DS3 v3.3 F12
RAM: 2 Kingston HyperX DDR2 800MHz (4GB total)
CPU: Core 2 Duo E6320 @variable rates (will fix my fan problem soon and overclock high again)
HSF: Thermalright Ultra 120 Extreme & Antec Tricool 120mm fan
PSU: Delta Serverpower 550W
HD: Seagate 400GB ST340032AS & Excelstor 80GB (both SATA)
Case: don't know what case it is but it is very crappy
Optical Drive: Lite-on 16X DVD+&- RW DL (died) using a CD-ROM drive until I get a new blu ray burner or whatever i can get


http://web26.hopto.org:443/

**been afk from tech-forums for a while so this is the updates specs**
advancedgeek is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 10:36 PM   #6 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default

sorry it is dual core intel 3gig each

and there is no warning beeps at start up

ps: nvidia recommends a min of 1000w for sli cards plus im running antec 12 hundred and lights antec have like 7 fans
lunchticket is offline  
Old 11-09-2008, 10:56 PM   #7 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
Lexluethar's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2008
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 4,708
Send a message via AIM to Lexluethar
Default Re: is my motherboard or my prossessor fried? help would be VERY apritiated

Okay, well i didn't know that you were running sli.

I still believe it is the MB.
__________________
-Vista SME
Lexluethar is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 08:37 PM   #8 (permalink)
Master Techie
 
Join Date: Mar 2008
Location: Logan, WV
Posts: 2,503
Send a message via AIM to wafflehammer
Default Re: is my motherboard or my prossessor fried? help would be VERY apritiated

you can run sli 8800gt's with a 380watt psu, someone on this forum is doing it :P so 1000watt is no where near recommended lol

i still stand on my opinion..it's the mobo or it'd at least post...PSU probably crapped out and took a few things with it
__________________

Core i7 920 @ 3.0Ghz
GIGABYTE GA-EX58-UD5
6gb G.Skill 1600mhz/9-9-9-24
Corsair 750XT
EVGA GTX 260---216core
WD 640gb
14590 3dmarks @ stock
wafflehammer is offline  
Old 11-10-2008, 09:16 PM   #9 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Nov 2008
Posts: 3
Default Re: is my motherboard or my prossessor fried? help would be VERY apritiated

ok so it was the mobo thx for all the advise:happy:
__________________

lunchticket is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
What To Look For When Buying Computer Components Luke Monitors, Printers and Peripherals 25 01-07-2009 09:09 PM
Upgrading to a Newer Motherboard - Advice Needed Shyam Bhat New Systems | Building and Buying 6 11-03-2008 10:56 AM
Windows XP OEM Motherboard Transfer azza_1992 Microsoft Windows and Software 15 09-04-2008 04:28 AM
Replacing Motherboard, Help Needed Rask Vann New Systems | Building and Buying 9 11-15-2007 09:40 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 04:57 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.