My Monitor - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-23-2006, 05:24 PM   #1 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 86
Default My Monitor

For some reason every now and then my monitor will glitch and studder for a little while and go back to normal. It's not killing me but it's annoying. And yes I have made sure it was snugly connected.
__________________

GhostDJR is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 05:54 PM   #2 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

Maybe it's dying.
__________________

__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 06:15 PM   #3 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 86
Default

Maybe I should just buy a new one then. I could easily get a black crt with decent res for $50.
GhostDJR is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 07:55 PM   #4 (permalink)
Wizard Techie
 
CrazeD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Location: Maine
Posts: 3,736
Send a message via AIM to CrazeD Send a message via MSN to CrazeD
Default

It might be your graphics card though. Try a different monitor.
__________________

Intel Q9400 | Gigabyte EP45-UD3P | G.Skill 2x2GB DDR2 1000 | XFX HD5870

Need website help? PM me!
CrazeD is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 10:45 PM   #5 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 86
Default

Nah, that's impossible. It's been on three different cards.
Would you recomend this monitor? I know it's CRT but it gets decent resolution.
http://www.tigerdirect.com/applicati...4276&CatId=172
GhostDJR is offline  
Old 12-23-2006, 11:39 PM   #6 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

I think that is a good buy.
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 12:20 AM   #7 (permalink)
Junior Techie
 
Join Date: Oct 2005
Posts: 86
Default

This monitor has good res, I'm not a hard-core gamer. But do you think it would hurt my gaming experience any?
GhostDJR is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 07:48 AM   #8 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Dec 2006
Posts: 17
Default

Mine is doing the same aswell(CRT). Walmart has some pretty nice flatscreen lcd's for pretty cheap if you have one near you. I'm strapped for cash though, so I'm using this bad boy until it stops working.
JacobM is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 09:50 AM   #9 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Join Date: Jun 2006
Location: Massachusetts
Posts: 1,151
Send a message via AIM to Deathawk Send a message via Yahoo to Deathawk
Default

No. Personally, I like CRTs more than LCDs, the only problem is that they are huge, but if you don't really have qualms with that, then I think you should be fine...
__________________
Deathawk is offline  
Old 12-24-2006, 11:59 AM   #10 (permalink)
True Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2006
Posts: 207
Default

IBM monitors are fine. People complain because they see to vertical lines 1 inch in on both sides of the screen. This is not a problem, its how they designed the crt. It is visible on the screen.
__________________

poorman is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 01:01 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.