Is it my Mobo or my CPU? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-12-2007, 07:35 PM   #1 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Sydzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 416
Default Is it my Mobo or my CPU?

Yeah, so I overclocked my E6600 a while ago to 3Ghz, vcore at 1.3 i think... anywho, it only upped my CPU temp to like 45 opposed to the normal 39-43 that I usually get according to everest, so it wasn't hot.

Ever since then I've had lots of fun where every like 3 hours or so, completely random, computer turns off. Doesn't shut down or have any warning signs, no temp increase or anything, it is just like a blackout hits the computer. Everything just goes off in an instant. So I unoverclocked, everything back to stock, and it still does it but less frequently. Not cool betsy if you ask me.

So all my temps are fairly normal, mobo is Asus P5B, @ 34 degrees right now, CPU @ 39, 8800GTX @ 52, HDD @ 33. Wondering if it is my CPU that is for some reason now screwed, or my ram? or my mobo. Please say mobo, cause I want to upgrade that anyway, lol, or is there some simple fix that I can make to stop this stupid power issue.

Oh yeah, PSU is Thermaltake Toughpower 850W

Thanks

Sydz
__________________

__________________

92% of teenagers have put some stupid made up statistic in their signature. If you're one of the 8% that aren't quite as gulliable, copy this.
Sydzy is offline  
Old 07-12-2007, 10:19 PM   #2 (permalink)
I know <html>, do you?
 
SYL\X/3K's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2006
Location: 127.0.0.1
Posts: 1,646
Send a message via AIM to SYL\X/3K Send a message via Yahoo to SYL\X/3K
Default Re: Is it my Mobo or my CPU?

If it randomly shuts off then most likely its the power supply at fault because the cpu cant cause the computer to shut off all the way . It can also be the Cmos battery but its most likely the power supply
__________________

__________________
P3 Setup- Intel 1.0ghz , 512Mb SDRAM , ATI 9200 128MB, 2x 40GB HD, Asus CUSL-LV

.....:::::POST Troubleshooting Steps.___.My Rig.___.Memory Test:::::.....
SYL\X/3K is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 02:51 AM   #3 (permalink)
Super Techie
 
Sydzy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2007
Posts: 416
Default Re: Is it my Mobo or my CPU?

hmmm, is there a way to test that?
__________________

92% of teenagers have put some stupid made up statistic in their signature. If you're one of the 8% that aren't quite as gulliable, copy this.
Sydzy is offline  
Old 07-13-2007, 04:46 AM   #4 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
meat_helmet's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2006
Location: Sydney, Australia
Posts: 1,119
Default Re: Is it my Mobo or my CPU?

Yeh it might be the PSU, because if the cpu or ram dont work it will not just turn off the power. It is possibly the motherboard but sounds more like the PSU. Double check all the cables are securly plugged in as well.
__________________
meat_helmet is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Mobo temps? Gabb New Systems | Building and Buying 7 06-21-2007 10:10 PM
static and my mobo funkywaggnelz New Systems | Building and Buying 10 06-12-2007 03:03 PM
Plugging wires in the mobo power panel incorrectly piggysmile Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 2 05-25-2007 09:17 PM
cannot install vista.. got a dell mobo siddanth3 New Systems | Building and Buying 13 04-30-2007 06:05 PM
MoBo question xcoreRelentless New Systems | Building and Buying 1 04-07-2007 10:55 AM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 09:05 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.