is my HD dead? - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-27-2009, 06:18 PM   #1 (permalink)
Newb Techie
 
Join Date: Jan 2009
Posts: 5
Default is my HD dead?

hi everyone had a mad day today turned on my pc this morning was updating my football manager game and then my computer came up saying windows had sufferd a bad error then it shutdown, i could not boot up at all not even in safe mode, tried reformatting the drive with my xp cd but it just kept coming up that files are corrupt and kept quitting the reformat so i reinstalled xp on my other HD no probs, once it was up and running i decided to connect my old hd and it came up under my computer and i was able to copy over all the files i needed, but then the same thing happened to my new hd just came up computer has recovered from serious error and shut itself down could not do anything. So the only thing i could think off was over heating so i took out my freezer 7 pro fan and re-seated it applied new artic 5 paste (very strange way of applying this 1 thin line down the middle of the cpu it says dont even have to spread it) anyway done that rebooted and now its working again? very strange i always keep an i on my temps and my cpu has never been above 35c so really dont no if that was the cause of it?

any ideas?
__________________

superJT is offline  
Old 02-27-2009, 06:36 PM   #2 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: is my HD dead?

I would say hard drive failure. I was having similar issues and i narrowed my problem down to a hard drive dying fast on me. I have it disabled and that now. Everything seems to be fine.

What you can try is to hook up the drive and boot into Windows.

DO NOT COPY ANYTHING FROM IT YET.

Open My Computer. Right click on teh drive and select Tools. Run a Error check with everythign checked. Have it scan, repair and everything on the drive.

This should not corrupt any data.

Let that run. You may even have to reboot to do it.

That might get you enough life out of it to at least get your data off of it.
__________________

__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 10:39 AM   #3 (permalink)
Lord Techie
 
Join Date: Feb 2005
Location: asdf
Posts: 8,886
Default Re: is my HD dead?

IMO if it happens on both hard drives you could also start memtest just to make sure your memory isn't throwing off errors.
c0rr0sive is offline  
Old 02-28-2009, 12:09 PM   #4 (permalink)
Private Joker
 
carnageX's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2007
Location: South Dakota
Posts: 24,507
Default Re: is my HD dead?

Quote:
Originally Posted by charles_scott View Post
IMO if it happens on both hard drives you could also start memtest just to make sure your memory isn't throwing off errors.
Agreed. If it happened on both drives, it's less of a chance of 2 dying hard drives than RAM failure (seems to be one of the most common parts to fail in a PC).
__________________
Laptop: MSI GT70 2OC-059us | i7-4700MQ | 16GB | GTX 770m | 500GB SSD / 750GB HDD | 17.3" | Win10 Pro
Desktop: 4690k | 12GB g.Skill RipJaws | GTX 970 | 520hx | Z87X-UD4H | Corsair Vengeance C70 | Corsair H110 | Acer 25" | Acer 22" | Win10
Mobile: Samsung Galaxy Note 5


If I help you, or you just like what I said, rep me by clicking the under my post
carnageX is online now  
Old 02-28-2009, 03:38 PM   #5 (permalink)
Call me Mak or K
Mod Emeritus
 
KSoD's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2004
Location: C:\
Posts: 35,647
Default Re: is my HD dead?

I dont think it is anything to do with RAM. The issues didnt start to occur again until after he hooked up the first drive. Which is the exact same symptoms that my system went thru with my bad drive. Without that drive in the system runs fine. But as soon as i hook it up and have it powered, my system crashes.

Which is what prompted my response. Cause the symptoms resemble that exactly.

Does teh system operate fine without the first HDD attached? If so then it would be that the driev is bad and causing this issue. Cause it fits exactly with my recent problem.
__________________
I do not accept support questions via EMail, PM, IM or my G+ page!

Phone: LG Optimus G Pro
Running: Stock JB from LG with Nova Launcher

KSoD is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off


Similar Threads
Thread Thread Starter Forum Replies Last Post
Huh, I think my PSU is dead. Can anyone confirm? Kutan Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting 1 02-23-2009 05:24 AM
Left 4 Dead Survival Pack Will Be Free Osiris PC Gaming 83 02-16-2009 08:30 PM
Dead pixel doom. (Good monitor to dodge dead pixels?) SpellSword System Upgrades 6 12-16-2007 02:37 PM



Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 02:41 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.