My hard drive dosn't like my computer... :( - Techist - Tech Forum

Go Back   Techist - Tech Forum > Computer Hardware > Hardware Repairs and Troubleshooting
Click Here to Login
Closed Thread
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 12-09-2005, 03:26 PM   #1 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Unhappy My hard drive dosn't like my computer... :(

What do you do when you have a hard drive that dosn't like your computer, and only your computer?

I have a Toshiba Satellite Pro 400CDT (yeah, i know. It blows.) with a 1.4gig hard drive, thatr seems to work in every other laptop (even much older models) accept mine?

When i use my windows 98 startup floppy, it tells me that "drive C: didn't register because it dosn't have a valid FAT@$$ 16 or 32 partition." Whenever i try to make one with FDISK, it tells me that i have to restart for the changes to take effect. So i do, but even then there's still not a fat32 partition after i restart. I even go to the FDISK program again, and there is no partition at all. I could do this a million times over and it would still do the same thing.


So i have an idea to go and just format my drive in another notebook. I FDISK it fine, and it works. I format it with a command.com file, (format C:/s) and it does that fine too, but when i put it back in my notebook, it says:

I/O DISK ERROR!
Replace disk and press any key


What should i do? I even tried putting a UNIX system in it. (FreeBSD 5) When i do that, it tells me that the disk dosn't have or isn't UFS, and dosn't start up. But yet again, when i put it in some other computer, it boots up just fine.
Please help me!
__________________

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 10:37 PM   #2 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
ATIRAGEPRO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2004
Posts: 1,400
Send a message via AIM to ATIRAGEPRO Send a message via Yahoo to ATIRAGEPRO
Cool "Baybe-cuz i'm on druugs..."

Help!
__________________

__________________


Quote:
Originally posted by bonehelm
WTF ROFLMAO !!!! WTF OMFG LOL !!!! PARDON THE ****KING CAPS IM SO ROFL NOW !!!

I just found out I\'ve been using direct X 8.1 since its out.
He who knows when enough is enough will always have enough... - Lao Tzu
ATIRAGEPRO is offline  
Old 12-09-2005, 10:48 PM   #3 (permalink)
Monster Techie
 
Bruce's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2005
Posts: 1,229
Default

maybe it's not the HD, but the disk controller on the laptops mobo.
__________________
With all due respect John, I am the head of IT and I have it on good authority. If you type "Google" into Google, you can break the Internet. So please, no one try it, even for a joke.........It's not a laughing matter. You can break the Internet.
Bruce is offline  
Closed Thread

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are On
Pingbacks are On
Refbacks are Off




Copyright 2002- Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.

All times are GMT -5. The time now is 10:29 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.